strongly recommend that you read the installation notes before running the
firmware update tool. The information and installation notes will be
displayed after clicking on "Download and Information" during the download
firmware update process may take up to 15 minutes. Once starting the
firmware update process do not restart or turn off your computer until the
to download area for your Brother machine.
your country and language. Example: United States (English)
your Brother model number and click on Search.
on highlighted model name under search results.
your Operating System.
your Language. English may be the default selection.
new screen will appear displaying various downloads available.
should see Firmware Update Tool showing version and to the right is
Download & Information.
on Download & Information.
new window will appear with information on how to Download and Install. It
is important to read these notes before downloading.
the Download process:
new window displaying Terms and Conditions will appear. After reviewing
and if you are in agreement, click on I Accept.
file download security window may appear with options to Run, Save or
Cancel. We recommend clicking on Run. Several of these
security windows may appear warning you about download, but we recommend on
clicking on Run or Continue.
the Brother Firmware Update Tool starts the first window to be displayed is a
notice about what information will be collected and where it will be
on I Accept if you agree to the terms.
window will appear with a warning message about specific data that will be
deleted during the firmware update process. Click Next to proceed,
or click Cancel to stop the update process.
next window will prompt you for a password. Please enter the password and
click on OK to continue.
update process has started. This process may take up to 15 minutes. Do not
switch off the machine and do not restart your computer during this
the process is completed the message "Successfully Completed" will appear.
Click on Done to close the window. Your firmware has been
If your firmware has already been updated or does not need an update a window
will be displayed briefly (less than 2 seconds) which will inform you that the
update is not needed, then the window above will be displayed indicating process
completed. Click on Done to close window.
The firmware update process may fail due to power failure or loss of network
connection. If this occurs please try the process again.