Latin America
Download individual embroidery designs from Disney®, Nickelodeon and more.
Brother Sews Newsletter
Sign-up for timely information on products features and more. >> subscribe
  • Comunity holder
  • Brother Club
  • Recieve the latest news, tips and
  • tricks from our educators, designs
  • and projects, plus special offers.
  • Sign Up
  • Event Calendar
  • Join Brother at events
  • across the country!
  • View All
  • Sewing Stories
  • Access our current and
  • archived newsletters for
  • free designs, projects
  • and more.
  • View All
  • Read all the Latest News
  • About Brother Products,
  • People, and Events.
  • View All
  • Sign Up for Special
  • Offers & News
  • Brother Product Information
  • and News. Sign Up today!
  • free designs, projects
  • and more.
  • View All
Free Designs, Projects & Videos
Comunity holder
Projects

Jump start your creativity with free projects, from crafts and gifts to fashion and home decor

View All
Free Designs

Free embroidery designs are just a click away

View All
Foot of the Month

Each month, we introduce a specialty presser foot along with a corresponding project

View All
Tutorials & Techniques

Step-by-step guides.

View All
Videos

Instructions on features and functions of your favorite machines.

View All
Ibroidery

Individual embroidery designs including designs from Disney, Warner Brothers and more

View All
Support
Comunity holder
Product Registration

Create a new account or log-in to update or view existing account.

Go to Registration Page
Support Center

Downloads, FAQs, Help and more.

View All
Software Updates

Find Print Drivers & Utility Software for you machine

View All
Product User Manuals

Download Manuals, Reference Guides, and other documents for your Product.

View All
Retired Products
View All
Contact Us

Contact us by Email or Phone

View All
Buy Now!
Regular Price: $219.99
Free Shipping!*
Designed for finishing the edges and hems of a wide range of fabrics, including formal wear, linens and stretchy fabrics, and for creating ruffles and decorative edges, the Brother™ 1034D Serger is the perfect addition to any sewing room. This reliable, easy to learn and use 3 / 4 thread serger features 22 built-in stitch functions, and snap-on, interchangeable creative feet. Stitch options include 4 thread overlock, 3 thread overlock, narrow hem, rolled hem, and ribbon lock stitches. With its differential fabric feed, the 1034D helps you achieve better stitch quality, for a more even, professional finish, even on very thin or stretchy fabrics. Threading is easy, with the color-coded upper thread guides and lower looper threading system. Plus, the included snap-on presser feet allow for quick and easy changes to transition to each desired stitch. To help you get started, the 1034D includes an instructional video, and a complete, printed instructional manual in English and Spanish.
  • Two needles and 3-4 thread
  • Versatile stitch options allow you to choose from 4 thread overlock, 3 thread overlock, narrow hem, rolled hem, and ribbon lock stitches.
  • Differential fabric feed for better stitch quality
  • Easy color-coded threading
  • Fast, up to 1300 stitches per minute
  • The stitch width can be easily adjusted between 3.00mm to 7.00mm, helping to provide the perfect stitch width for your project
  • Presser foot pressure adjustment dial
  • 2-point thread tension control device allows for smoother delivery of thread, and the tension for each needle can also be individually adjusted, for even more precise control for each type of thread.
  • Free Arm for Sewing Cuffs and Sleeves.
  • Retractable knife blade helps prevent against accidentally cutting your fabric when you're working close to the edges of rolled hems.
  • Brightly Lit Work Area
  • Safety feature prevents operation when the front cover is open
  • Uses standard sewing machine needles
  • Built-in storage allows you to keep accessory tools on the front panel flip-down door, and use the removable trim trap to store the foot controller, and to collect trim while serging.
  • Bilingual operation manual and instructional CD
Basic Features back to top
Stitch Select Dial
Lighting Bulb

Sewing Features back to top
Maximum Sewing Speed (Stitches Per Minute) 1,300
Feed Dog Differential Feed
Stitch Width (mm) 5.0 - 7.0 mm from left needle
Stitch Length (mm) 2.0 - 4.0 mm (for overlock stitch), 1.0-2.0 mm (for narrow stitch), 1.0 mm (for roll stitch)
Presser Foot Pressure Adjustment Yes
Specialty Feet Included Yes (Additional specialty feet may be available. See Optional Accessories)

Carton Contents back to top
Accessory Storage Yes
Included Accessory Feet Standard foot, blind stitch foot, gathering foot
Other Included Accessories 4 large spools of serger thread, soft cover, accessory bag with needle set, 4 thread nets, 4 thread spool caps, 4 thread nets, tweezers, cleaning brush, hexogonal driver, trim trap, foot controller pedal, instruction DVD, instruction manual

Warranty 25 year limited warranty
Machine Dimensions (H x W x D) 11.73" x 10.98" x 13.19"
Machine Weight 13.45 lbs.
Shipping Dimensions (H x W x D) 14.37" x 15.35" x 17.32"
Shipping Weight 19.84 lbs.
UL/CSA Listed Yes, 110v

Serger Features back to top
Overlock Seam Width 5.0 - 7.0mm from left needle
Double Chain Stitch No
Cover Stitch No
2/3/4 Thread Change No
Differential Feed 0.7 - 2.0mm
Change for Rolled Hemming Removable
Underlooper Threader Yes
Stitch Fingers 1
Knife Drive Type Lower drive

Please click on the categories below to view the optional accessories for the 1034D

SA212 Elastic Foot for Serger

Genuine Brother® Accessory. Attach and sew elastic or tape in one easy step with your overlock machine. Adjustable stitch width up to 12mm. Channel on foot secures elastic or twill tape to fabric eliminating the need for pins as you created a serged edge. Gathers knits as elastic is attached.

SA213 Gathering Foot for Serger

Genuine Brother® Accessory. Gathering and edge finishing in one operation. Serge finish fabric edges with this snap on foot. Channel on foot secures fabric elimnating the need for pins as you create a serged edge and gather single or double layers of fabric. Connect fabric layers and edge finish in one step.

SA211 Pearl Sequence Foot for Serger

Genuine Brother® Accessory. Holds and guides pearls as you use your overlock machine. Guides up to 5mm stranded pearls for one step attachment. Channel for pearl feeding. Adjustable stitch length avoids needle breakage.

SA210 Piping Foot for Serger

Genuine Brother® Accessory. Guide and hold narrow piping as you use your overlock machine. Create your own piping using fabric strips and piping cord. Holds and guides piping eliminating the need for pins as piping and fabric are serged together. Guide and hold zipper in place with guide on the underside of foot to hold teeth of zipper foot in place as zipper and fabric are serged together.

1034D Overview Video
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I love my brother machines. I would love if there were a few more videos on using them. Watching videos is much easier than reading.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Serger The Brother 1034D is a very good serger. I am very happy with my purchase. I had a top of the line serger (another brand) that cost more then $1000.00 but it could not be repaired. I do garment sewing for myself and the 1034D has done everything I needed .
Date published: 2017-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This is the first serger I have ever even used but I love it. I kept hearing from friends how horrible threading a serger was but this is quite easy for me. Plus, it stitches the seam and overcasts at the same time! I make items that I donate to hospitals and this saves so much time I am able to more!
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Brother 1034D The best thing I can say about the serger is that stitch is very good. The video provided with the machine is a good idea, except the viewing window is way to small. Especially the threading videos on the the loopers. Your video was to small and to dark. I had to go to You Tube to get a better view to seeing how to thread them. I'm also concerned about how noisy the machine is. I listen to a audio book while I'm sewing and can't hear it as long as I'm sewing and the CD player is only setting 2 feet from me. This is my biggest worry about the machine. The other concen I have is you have to push pretty hard on the foot pedal it get the serger to start sewing and sometimes I have to give the hand wheel a turn to get it to start. I have been sewing on it since I received it and this is not my first serger. I bought my first serger in 1985 and have been using is constantly until about a month or so ago. I use a serger a lot more than my regular sewing machine.
Date published: 2017-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Serging Newbie I love my 3 vintage sewing machines but decided to dip my toe into the sergeing world. I am a total newbie. I purchased this 1034D for the price, good reviews and extra items included with the package. After watching several Youtube videos beforehand, I found it easy to thread at my first attempt. No problems. I oiled it up and made my 5 test strips showing all tension- setting variations.. My first try-out, a simple soda cup carrier made for a relative's walker, came out great. I was amazed at how fast it was completed. My elderly sewing machines may get a gentle nap more often.
Date published: 2017-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My wish came true! for at least two years I have been wanting a serger, and I have been eyeing the Brother -1034D, and wishing, well, no longer, my wish came true, I am just in the process of learning everything I can about the serger and I have done a few projects, small, but I know there will be more in the future, it does a great job and i am very happy with it, thanks, BROTHER, FOR MAKING MY WISH COME TRUE
Date published: 2017-08-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cover stitch machine Used 1st time. Tried to tie new color to thread left fm company. Worked until pink thread broke before threading needle. Took forever to get 1 thread through guide & needle. Also found that you sew right side up! Booklet did not explain this well.
Date published: 2017-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it My Brother has made my sewing a breeze. Not sure why I waited so long to get it.
Date published: 2017-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable for the price!! I've been sewing for over 50 years. I've always wanted a serger, my husband and son bought one. Wasn't sure if I would like it, my sewing machine is a vintage Bernina, which I love. Got the machine at Christmas, but didn't use it until April--because my son had to complete his Eagle Scout project. Thank you, thank you: the machine was perfect! Quick, easy, sews like a dream! My son made Eagle, we loved the project results--and I tell everyone interested about this machine. Do yourself a favor, invest in the Brother 1034D. I cannot wait to sew again!
Date published: 2017-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Money well spent! This is a great machine; they designed this one so that the thread tension would be perfect. I really like it.
Date published: 2017-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome work horse and great service I got this machine and oiled it right out of the box because of the reviews I had read. Works great! Heavy so it doesn't shake. I did read one review about the lower cutting blade breaking and mine did. When I emailed the co, I said upper blade by mistake and they sent me a new one right away. As soon as I received it I realized my mistake, so I emailed them again and they told me to keep the upper and sent me the correct one. Very pleased with the machine and the service!
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's an "ok" starter, but the timing gets eratic Spend the extra money and buy a,more user friendly machine
Date published: 2017-08-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Do An Upgrade I bought this for my 2nd home and really wish I would have bought a better model. The serger I am accustom to has a totally free arm for tight spots, this one does not. Also, it seems I have to keep re-threading it , even though I have the dials set according to the handbook. Sewing is my hobby and wanted to be able to enjoy it when I go to Fl home throughout the year. At 65, can't tote it bck and forth to store for someone to look at it. Just wish I had shopped and tried out first
Date published: 2017-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great beginning machine Really like using the brother 1034d No adjustments were needed after I unboxed it. Have been using it to sew clothes and it really cuts the sewing time down My biggest worry was not threading it correctly that was not a problem with this machine. Manual is very good and explains things well. Am sure I will will be using it a lot.
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mother's Day I got this for as a Mother's Day gift and I love it it's well-made easy to operate easy to thread! Wishing I could find all the feet for it at a reasonable price.
Date published: 2017-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it The only drawback is in the threading. It is challenging until you get the hang of it
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT LIL SERGER THIS MACHINE IS EXCEPTIONALLY GOOD FOR THE PRICE & QUALITY .. I AM USING IT MAKE DOLL CLOTHES FOR CRAFT SHOWS & IT IS WORKING GREAT .. I HAVE A SHOW COMMING UP IN A COUPLE OF WEEKS & I AM SEWING ON IT PRACTICALLY EVERY DAY .. IT REALLY CUTS MY WORK TIME IN HALF .. SO GLAD I DECIDED ON A BROTHER SERGER & THIS MODEL IN PARTICULAR ..
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine. Glad to have it. Makes all my sewing more professional. Thanks Brother.
Date published: 2017-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! Was a little intimidating at first but after watching a few videos - I just love my serger! Easy to operate perfect seams!!
Date published: 2017-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine great price I would highly recommend this brother serger it is great for the projects that I've used it for I like to make bags pillow cases and other things that need to be over solved. Other than the thread that comes with it being a little on the cheaper and less user-friendly side once I switch to standard cones I've never had a problem is very easy to thread
Date published: 2017-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I bought this machine because it said easy thread. It is so easy to thread. Very easy machine to use a d kwith the cd that came with it the possibilities are endless. I love my machine
Date published: 2017-08-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Serger machine complicated: next time i stick to my singer serger machine.from i got this machine it's complicated
Date published: 2017-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase for the price I bought this machine as a second one to have dark thread colors so not to have to change thread all the time. It does a really nice job so far. I have used cotton, denim, and knits without issue,
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love. love . love my 1034D serger Initially I purchased my 1034D serger by Brother to hem a gown for my neighbor's daughter. She had a 3 layered gown with a train and it was at least 4 inches too long. She needed the gown for the following month for a military ball. After looking at the layers and knowing how long it would take me as I ususally hem by hand, I decided to finally buy that serger. I did all my homework and it lead me straight to the 1034D. It sat in my sewing area for at least 3 days before I even tried to use it. My mistake. I was intimidated but once I did everything as outlined in the instructions, it was a breeze. I want to use my 1034D for everything I sew now. I am so glad I purchased my Brother 1034D. I
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Machine I have thrown everything at this machine and it has performed perfectly every time. It's so easy to use and works great. One of the best purchases I have ever made.
Date published: 2017-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally made the leap! I've only been sewing for two years, but after delving into making purses, misc crafts, etc, I decided to purchase a serger. I didn't consider another brand, Brother was my first and only choice! It works like a dream, and I'm using it a LOT!
Date published: 2017-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good decision! My 1034D is one of my est machine purchases. I have a few Brother machines and I haven't been disappointed yet. I needed a for my sewing, but especially for the rolled hem which I use a lot. It's beautiful. My next purchase will be an embroidery machine. A Brother of course.
Date published: 2017-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it. I love the machine and work on it when I can.I use it on my off days .
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Disappointed Being an experienced seamstress, I have had a hard time learning this machine. I have followed the instructions to the letter, went over the CD and I still cannot get it to sew a hem stitch or on light fabrics. I regret that I bought this machine.
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I just love this machine. It is such a time saver!
Date published: 2017-07-24
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_392
  • loc_en_US, sid_1034D, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_brotherhad
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 46ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
 
Sign-up For Email Deals, Product Information, and More!
Thank You For Signing Up!
You have been successfully added to our email list!
Close