Latin America
Download individual embroidery designs from Disney®, Nickelodeon and more.
Brother Sews Newsletter
Sign-up for timely information on products features and more. >> subscribe
  • Comunity holder
  • Brother Club
  • Recieve the latest news, tips and
  • tricks from our educators, designs
  • and projects, plus special offers.
  • Sign Up
  • Event Calendar
  • Join Brother at events
  • across the country!
  • View All
  • Sewing Stories
  • Access our current and
  • archived newsletters for
  • free designs, projects
  • and more.
  • View All
  • Read all the Latest News
  • About Brother Products,
  • People, and Events.
  • View All
  • Sign Up for Special
  • Offers & News
  • Brother Product Information
  • and News. Sign Up today!
  • free designs, projects
  • and more.
  • View All
Free Designs, Projects & Videos
Comunity holder
Projects

Jump start your creativity with free projects, from crafts and gifts to fashion and home decor

View All
Free Designs

Free embroidery designs are just a click away

View All
Foot of the Month

Each month, we introduce a specialty presser foot along with a corresponding project

View All
Tutorials & Techniques

Step-by-step guides.

View All
Videos

Instructions on features and functions of your favorite machines.

View All
Ibroidery

Individual embroidery designs including designs from Disney, Warner Brothers and more

View All
Support
Comunity holder
Product Registration

Create a new account or log-in to update or view existing account.

Go to Registration Page
Support Center

Downloads, FAQs, Help and more.

View All
Software Updates

Find Print Drivers & Utility Software for you machine

View All
Product User Manuals

Download Manuals, Reference Guides, and other documents for your Product.

View All
Retired Products
View All
Contact Us

Contact us by Email or Phone

View All
The 2340CV Cover Stitch is an advanced serger, which allows you to create a wide range of cover stitches on all types and weights of fabric for both decorative and constructive applications. Expand your creativity with the 2340CV's advanced technology. It features a tri-cover stitch, wide and narrow coverstitches, color coded threading, easy looper threading, adjustment dials for stitch length, a presser foot dial, snap on feet and differential feed which allows you to alter the speed at which your fabric is feeding through the machine. With 3 needles and one looper thread, the coverstitch machine creates professional hems, chain stitch and decorative stitching- great for making the perfect T-shirt in no time!
–Easy to follow lay-in threading.
–Color-coded threading guide.
–Fast and easy looper threading system.
–Dial adjustment for stitch length.
–Stitch length 2mm to 4mm.
–Presser foot pressure adjustment.
–Slide lever adjustment for differential feed.
–Differential feed for perfect seaming on virtually any fabric type.
–Eliminates the wavy or stretched appearance of stitches on fabrics.
–Snap-on presser foot
  • Differential fabric feed for better stitch quality
  • Two needle 2-3-4 thread cover stitch only
  • Cover Stitch Capability 3mm and 6mm
  • Chain Stitch Capability
  • Easy color-coded threading
Basic Features back to top
Lighting Bulb
Needle Threading System No

Sewing Features back to top
Maximum Sewing Speed (Stitches Per Minute) 1,100
Built-in Sewing Stitches (Includes Buttonhole Styles) Tri-cover, Cover, Utility, Flatlock, Decorative (no buttonhole styles)
Stitch Width (mm) 3.0 or 6.0mm
Stitch Length (mm) 2.0 - 4.0mm
Presser Foot Pressure Adjustment Yes
Specialty Feet Included Yes (Additional specialty feet may be available. See Optional Accessories)

Carton Contents back to top
Accessory Storage Yes
Included Accessory Feet Special Presser Foot
Other Included Accessories Accessory bag with needle set, thread nets (4), tweezers, spool caps (4), spool mat (4), cleaning brush, hexagonal wrench, soft cover and Operation Manual

Warranty 1/5/25 year serger warranty. See serger warranty for details.
Machine Dimensions (H x W x D) 11.8" x 11.0" x 13.4"
Machine Weight 15 lbs.
Shipping Dimensions (H x W x D) 13.8" x 13.0" x 15.3"
Shipping Weight 16.9 lbs.
UL/CSA Listed Yes, 110v

Serger Features back to top
Overlock Seam Width N/A
Double Chain Stitch Yes
Cover Stitch Yes
2/3/4 Thread Change No
Differential Feed 0.7 - 2.0mm
Change for Rolled Hemming No
Underlooper Threader No
Stitch Fingers No
Knife Drive Type N/A

Please click on the categories below to view the optional accessories for the 2340CV

SA223CV Belt Loop Guide for Serger

Turn fabric strips into professionally finished, serged belt loops. As the fabric is fed into the guide, it is folded and fed to the coverstitch machine for quick and easy finishing

SA224CV Bias Tape Binding Set for Serger

When attaching 6 mm (approx. 1/4”) bias tape: Use the small bias tape sliding plate with the LC2 presser foot. When attaching 12 mm (approx. 1/2”) bias tape: Use the large bias tape sliding plate with the LC1 presser foot (included with your Cover Stitch).

SA222CV Bias Tape Folder for Serger

Folds and attaches 12 or 12.7 mm (1/2") wide bias tape in one easy step. Use either self-made or store-bought bias tape up to 1/2" in width).

SA225CV Double Fold Binder for Serger

Turn fabric edges for perfect bias binding with sizing tools, deliver the binding to the fabric edge to be covered and apply parallel rows of straight stitching for a consistent and professional finish. Works well on curves or straight edges.

SA221CV Hemming Set for Serger

Serge and finish hem edges with sized tools for consistent and professional finish.

SA226CV Top Stitching Foot Set for Serger

Use included presser foot to top stitch with 3 or 6 mm (approx. 1/8 or 1/4 inch) wide cover stitch T1/T2 presser foot

Rated 3 out of 5 by from A decent machine but it has its disadvantages I enjoyed using it but when I looked into the hemming foot or other feet the prices were ridiculous... Especially when you bought the machine to make t shirt more professional looking.. And there's not enough videos on how to remove the fabric from machine... And how to use the specialty feet.
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this little coverstitch machine!! I love it when a machine does just what it's designed to do very well. My stitches are beautiful!!! I also have an $$$ serger that converts to coverstitching, but that's a pain to do, and in my opinion a time waster. This machine has a great price also! I would like better instructions on using the accessories that were an extra purchase.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this machine! I love this coverstitch machine! It's not hard to learn to thread it, especially if you have some serger experience. It does take some practice and watching video tutorials on how to remove the fabric from the machine and tie off the ends properly. But once I got it, I got it! Now, not only are hems faster and easier, my knits look professionally made.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY TO LEARN - Love this machine I would totally recommend this machine to anyone considering purchasing a cover stitch machine. Since I don't like changing thread colors in my regular sewing machine I knew I couldn't deal with a serger/cover stitch all in one machine. I decided to buy the Brother 1034D Serger and the 2340 CoverStitch. GREAT DECISION-I Love both. The stretch ability of the cover stitch is absolutely better than using a double-needle on a regular sewing machine.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed I own and have owned many sergers. When my main server, which is both an overlock and cover stitch machine, needed to go in for servicing I decided to look for a machine that I could use solely for doing cover stitches. This Brother machine is perfect. Now when I get s job that requires a cover hem I just go to my Brother2340CV and complete the job in 1/2 the time. No time wasted on changing a machine to do a simple cover stitch! Thank you Brother
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coverstitching capabilities Brother 2340cv proved to be a wise investment. It stitches very nice and is easy to use. I mounted mine to my sewing table using metric screws after removing the screws for the rubber feet, now the machine is rock solid when sewing. Easy modification that makes using the machine a real joy!
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My first coverstitch machine and I'm happy Honestly, I was a little intimidated about this machine but it was easy to use and did exactly what I wanted it to do. I am not a professional seamstress but I am looking to elevate my skills to a more professional level and this machine has helped me to that end. I am now sewing beautiful hems on knits.
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Coverstich! I purchased this machine to speed the process of hemming both knits and wovens. It is easy to thread, simple to use and sews beautifully. My garments have a more professional finish now.
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Sewing Room Is Complete! I absolutely love my new coverstitch machine. It's a breeze to operate if you have serger experience and I imagine, even if you are not familiar with a serger. It's very easy to thread, adjustments are easy and the stitching is beautiful. I have five other Brother machines and would certainly recommend this one as a finish machine for anyone who is into sewing. I use my coverstitch exclusively for hemming knit creations and it is a strong professional finish.
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liked it Simple to use. Satisfactory results. Price was rig
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Glad I Purchased This! I read many reviews before purchasing this machine. I do a good deal of sewing clothing, as well as home decoration. I have a sewing machine and serger, so I never thought about a cover stitch machine. That is, until I saw a video demonstration of this machine in action. I love stretch knit clothing, and this gives a professional finish with no worry of popped hems. I have not had any issues with removing fabric from the machine or threading. Just watch some videos. There are plenty of them. One last mention, I am really glad I chose a separate cover stitch machine so I can go from serger to cover stitch without rethreading.
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome value great machine Shows like a professional machine quiet and does what it needs to do don't hesitate buy it
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from expensive For me is too expensive, when i decided to buy it the main purpose was to sew the neckline, but surprise !! the foot was not included, my error never find a review about this, the feet are very, very expensive, the other problem is whatever i put the thread release number is too tight in the number 1 needle, i change thread and nothing, i am not satisfied, in fact i regret not buying other brand which was a little expensive, but at the end should be the best option, maybe when i can get a job i wish can buy the main foot (double bias tape foot). good luck !
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this cover stitch Super simple to use & makes sewing with knits easy. Only "con" I can think of is this machine is sold with the wrong needles, you immediately need to switch the needles to stretch needles to prevent any skipping
Date published: 2016-07-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst purchase ever I am sooo disappointed with my decision to purchase this machine, the hardest and most frustrating feature is how to remove fabric from machine when stitching is completed. Doesn't give a clean finished edge as a serger does, the purpose for buying it was I was led to believe it is a sewing/serger all in one minus the cutting blade.
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Had to send it back I was so excited to get this serger, it was reasonably priced and had good reviews. However, after many many hours spent learning all about how to use it and successfully stitching on small samples, when I started using it on an actual project the threads would bunch up and the machine would quit after about a 12-15 inches of stitching. As it turns out the tension adjustment wouldn't work on one of the four threads. I sent it back.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy To Use I have my cover stitch machine sitting back to back with my serger and switch threads from the serger to the cover stitch machine when needed. The serger acts as my thread stand. An easy way to release the looper thread at the end of the stitching, is to open the front of the cover stitch machine and release the looper. Pull the looper thread up and through the needle plate, reset the looper, close the door and cut the top threads and then the looper thread after pulling the top threads to the back of the fabric. No knotting or seam sealer needed to lock the thread ends. Practice makes perfect.
Date published: 2016-05-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Purchase Ever I've had this machine for about 2.5 years now and it has behaved badly almost every time I use it. Stitches are uneven in a very unpredictable way. At best, it will do a sloppy job of stitching. At worst it will destroy the fabric and not even accomplish the stitching while doing that. I'm not an inexperienced sewer (been doing it for 45 years). This is the most unreliable machine I've ever owned. The very crude manual does not include any trouble-shooting advice. I can't even sell it - my conscience won't let me do that to some unsuspecting stranger.
Date published: 2015-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it It was very easy and does a GORGEOUS job. I love it
Date published: 2014-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase I like that you can sew with either one, two, or three needles.
Date published: 2014-11-13
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_2340CV, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_brotherhad
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 187ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
 
Sign-up For Email Deals, Product Information, and More!
Thank You For Signing Up!
You have been successfully added to our email list!
Close