All Products List

Support for Printers

Find the Support You Need for Your Printer:

support

Contact Brother by Email, Chat or Phone

Get the Latest Drivers, Software Updates, Manuals, FAQs, Videos and More!


Locate a Brother Authorized Service Center to provide support on your Brother products.



HL-3170CDW

Digital Color Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex

Estimated Street Price: $249.99*




Download Brochure  
HL-3170CDW is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 481.
  • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_481
  • loc_en_US, sid_HL3170CDW, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_brother
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 94ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
View Product Demo




Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Works great. Very fast and quiet. Better than any other printer I’ve owned.
Date published: 2017-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Priner We don't print very often and this Brother printer has been very robust. The toner quality is very good and the wireless connection is stable. Paper feed is consistent. Excellent product.
Date published: 2017-11-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Works good price, you get what you pay for. So, other brother printers are great. THIS ONE not so great. It has VERY poor print quality (almost defective quality) I do very much regret ever buying it. There are lines all over. I returned the same one to the store and got the SAME model. Still same problem. At least brother sent me new ink but it didn't fix the problem at all. Its just a VERY BAD printer. After the toner is out I'm probably just gonna toss it in the trash.
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible service The customer service on this product is terrible. I have had my product in for repair for over 2 months and they continue to tell me it’s a back order issue. The third party service provider is awful.
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TERRIFIC! Very, very good color laser for the money. Double sided printing also.
Date published: 2017-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Printer...Very Versatile I use this printer for both business and personal purposes. It has many features that were not even dreamed about when I purchased my old Oki C5200 about 15 years ago.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Have to take it back Will only print one copy at time. No multiples. If you set for two or more copies it only prints the first page and then doesn’t stop until you unplug it
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's okay I've always had Brother black and white, and when my Phaser printer broke, I figured i would replace it with a brother color. It was a bad choice for me, as I mostly use black and white I'm always accidentally printing in color, expensive. Of course I can't compare an inexpensive color printer to the IBM Phaser, and for that I am disappointed. All in all, it's a good printer, but not the right printer for me.
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! Replaced an old Brother monochrome printer. The old one still works but this works so much better! The color and duplex are great. Wish we had done it sooner.
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use. This was our first wireless printer. Once we got it set up and we learned what to do and expect in the operation cycle, it was easy to make iPhone copies.
Date published: 2017-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Printed Photos! Photo's are as if they were printed from negatives on film not with ink!
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Save money over inkjet n Since I use the printer infrequent the ink will dry up on an inkjet. This laser printer pays for itself in what I save on cartridges . Been using their printers since 2006 and happy about the purchase.
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stopped Working Properly After 1 Year Printer had been great. Lightly used with decent quality color output which is what I expected from a printer at this price point. Then yesterday it stopped fusing the toner to the paper. It actually created 3-D "toner hair". And it started crumpling the paper as it went thru the machine - I could actually hear the machine making a grinding noise as it bunched the paper. I purchased it from Staples and they could not confirm a warranty exchange because it's now 3 days past the 1 year ago purchase date. AND I cannot speak to anyone at Brother because their customer service is closed on the weekends. Do not buy this printer!
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from exceeds expectations I am impressed by the speed and ease of operation. This machine is perfect for my small self publishing operation. I have depended on Brother Laser Printers for over thirty years. i am proud to ad color this laser printer to my equipment stable. I recomend this printer to any company or individual trying to produce economical color documentd, booklets and flyers. It is the best printer i have ever owned. I print any where from two to two thousand pages a day, and am very hard on printers. that is why I count on the best. I count on brother.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from high maintence Machine works excellent. Could drive you to the poor house with toner , plus new drums???
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice printer Overall, I like the printer. I had trouble getting it out of deep sleep mode. As long as I print something everyday, it works. This printer does a nice job and the colors are good. I found someone else with the same printer and that helped with the deep sleep problem.
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great printer but expensive Great print quality with all the features and easy set up. It's not cheap to operate, but it is in line with other brands. After 7 years using a model 3070 that burned up a motor, I'm happy with this newer model.
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great printer Prints great with good color. Was easy to set up for wireless printing.
Date published: 2017-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from O, Brother, where art thou? I bought this Brother to replace one I lost in a fire and I bought it because of my good experience with the first one.
Date published: 2017-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from VERY QUIET The HL-3170CDW is very quiet. It prints very good, too. So far the colors I've printed have blended well and look good. The only thing I miss about my old ink jet all in one is scanner, but the Brother was just too big for my space. Still, very happy with the printer.
Date published: 2017-09-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good color laser printer, for the money. Brother makes great printers (this is my 3rd), and if you need an inexpensive SOHO color printer, this beats inkjets - except in one category. The colors are somewhat muddy and dark. I've tried adjusting the color output, without success. I needed reliable, color printing (no jammed inkjets) for my draft proposals. The 3170CDW works great for that. Duplex printing is excellent. Alternate tray feed is finicky, but useable. Cost per page is about as expected - higher than inkjet, but worth it to me -- and less than many competing printers. When I need perfect color for my final print, I transmit to my local commercial shop.
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reliable High Quality Printer I have now owned this printer for about 2 months - the Pros: Reliable, high quality, quiet printing at a moderate price. Customer service is outstanding with responsiveness and assistance. the Cons: Wireless communication has not worked with multiple devices; works great with single laptop but will not sustain the communication with other connected devices despite the efforts from Customer Service.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good printer but....... Print quality seem very good. USB connection works fine. But after working for weeks I've yet to be able to get the wireless connection from dropping at various times. Once that happens the printer must be restarted to reconnect. Other than that annoying problem I like the printer.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Brother HL-3170 CDW Review Overall a very good printer. From my experience, the main thing that need improvement is the manual feed - the envelopes often jam and inserting an 8.5 x 11 sheet often does not feed in straight.
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awsome Printer Great Features and clear printing. Great for home or office,I use it ALL the time and I have never had a problem. Even changing the toner is No problem!
Date published: 2017-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work Horse! Quiet, Convenient & User Friendly. Economical to operate.
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great printer! Love this little laser printer. No problems with connectivity from computer, phones or tablets. We had an inkjet and this prints a lot faster and we don't have issues with ink drying out due to non-use. Color is great for the majority of our prints (school papers, home office reports and powerpoints). It even takes up less space than our previous inkjet all-in-one.
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the price This is a great printer for the price. It's easy to set up, use, and maintain. And the cost of toner sure beats the cost of ink. However, this does not produce high quality graphics. So, if you don't need high quality (like I don't for my usage), this is a great printer.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great upgrade Printer was a replacement for an older unit. It has functioned better than I expected.
Date published: 2017-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst printer worst printer just says it cant print and i need to do something, error on startup , documents stuck. Just complete terrible
Date published: 2017-08-28
  • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_481
  • loc_en_US, sid_HL3170CDW, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_brother
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 109ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*Street pricing may vary
Buy Now!
Valid Thru 12/23/2017
Regular Price: $249.99 Instant Rebate: $5.00 Free Shipping!*
After Savings: $244.99 Limit 2 Per Customer
Compare Models
HL-3140CW
Est Price:
$199.99*



Support
Software downloads
and updates, FAQs,
Manuals and more...