All Products List

Support for Printers

Find the Support You Need for Your Printer:

support

Contact Brother by Email, Chat or Phone

Get the Latest Drivers, Software Updates, Manuals, FAQs, Videos and More!


Locate a Brother Authorized Service Center to provide support on your Brother products.



HL-5450DN

High-Speed Laser Printer with Networking and Duplex




Download Brochure  
HL-5450DN is rated 4.375 out of 5 by 88.
  • 2016-05-24T07:09CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_88
  • loc_en_US, sid_HL5450DN, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_Brother
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
View Product Demo



Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent Printer The department at my company that uses this printer prints a lot of documents at any given time, and this model does a decent job with the quantity and quality of the printed pages. However, we are on our 2nd one of this printer, as the 1st one died after almost 2 years. The quality of the pages started having a fuzzy look to them. In the end it was found that a certain part was showing signs of wear caused from all of the heat generated overtime. Overall, this is a good printer if you don't do a ton of B&W printing. If you are going to print 100 pages (give or take) a week, be prepared for it to wear out within the time frame mentioned above.
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Brother Laser Printer Really nice printer. Speed is faster than two other brands of laser printers; cost effective especially in duplex. wish it had a larger paper tray and would feed heavier stock more consistently.
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Basic Printer It prints clearly and quickly in black for the basic printer that I wanted. It has front loading hand-feed tray, unlike its color counterpart. Brother is possibly passing HP in being the GoTo printer option. I use a Brother All-In-One at a client's office and it scans to file beautifully.
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Roaring Lion With Lightning Feet I've used the unit for 3 months. It works impeccably...except: (1) The manual feed tray assembly is very thin and seems too fragile, but I've learned to treat it gently. (2) The software doesn't engage perfectly with Adobe Reader; some options don't appear: can't choose Save Toner mode or do double-sided printing. (3) The startup engine is very loud, but settles down in a few seconds. In my small study it shakes the walls, but now I like it. It tells me it's ready to work! On the other hand: (1) The unit is incredibly fast at first pages out. (2) The print quality is high. Compared with my 12-year-old HP LaserJet 2100 (Mac), this is a very welcomed improvement. I'm relieved to have this Brother machine. But it waits for me to produce more docs.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great Printer until it dies after 1 year I got 6 of these. Each one failed after a year. They start getting very grainy and smudged print. I had some serviced under warranty. They are now doing the same thing again, and Brother has told me tough luck. 100% fail rate for me.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bought two, both died just after 90 days Error and toner lights came on simultaneously and they wouldn't print any more. Changed toner, nothing. Changed the drum, nothing. Hopefully Brother will honor their warranty. Now to figure out how to make a warranty clam.
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good unit but not wireless The HL-5450DN has been a good and dependable printer. My only disappointment is that it is not wireless (???) and when I bought it I thought I was buying a wireless printer.....my mistake.
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Replacement We purchased the prior HL-5450DN two years ago. It printed out 35,000 pages before an internal malfunction rendered it nonfunctional. This printer should have lasted to 100k pages and I called Brother, but was told it was out of warrant. Given other options, we decided to purchase another as a replacement. Would have liked to see Brother stand behind their product when it only reached a third of its life. Hopefully this one lasts the full 100k pages. It does work well in a mixed Windows/Apple environment. And plays well with iPads and iPhones.
Date published: 2016-03-02
  • 2016-05-24T07:09CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_88
  • loc_en_US, sid_HL5450DN, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_Brother
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*Street pricing may vary

PC Magazine Editors' Choice Award Logo is a registered trademark of Ziff Davis Publishing Holdings Inc. Used under license.

Compare Models
HL-L5100DN
Est Price:
$199.99*


HL-L5200DW
Est Price:
$229.99*


HL-L6200DW
Est Price:
$249.99*



Support
Software downloads
and updates, FAQs,
Manuals and more...