Latin America
Download individual embroidery designs from Disney®, Nickelodeon and more.
Brother Sews Newsletter
Sign-up for timely information on products features and more. >> subscribe
  • Comunity holder
  • Brother Club
  • Recieve the latest news, tips and
  • tricks from our educators, designs
  • and projects, plus special offers.
  • Sign Up
  • Event Calendar
  • Join Brother at events
  • across the country!
  • View All
  • Sewing Stories
  • Access our current and
  • archived newsletters for
  • free designs, projects
  • and more.
  • View All
  • Read all the Latest News
  • About Brother Products,
  • People, and Events.
  • View All
  • Sign Up for Special
  • Offers & News
  • Brother Product Information
  • and News. Sign Up today!
  • free designs, projects
  • and more.
  • View All
Free Designs, Projects & Videos
Comunity holder

Jump start your creativity with free projects, from crafts and gifts to fashion and home decor

View All
Free Designs

Free embroidery designs are just a click away

View All
Foot of the Month

Each month, we introduce a specialty presser foot along with a corresponding project

View All
Tutorials & Techniques

Step-by-step guides.

View All

Instructions on features and functions of your favorite machines.

View All

Individual embroidery designs including designs from Disney, Warner Brothers and more

View All
Comunity holder
Product Registration

Create a new account or log-in to update or view existing account.

Go to Registration Page
Support Center

Downloads, FAQs, Help and more.

View All
Software Updates

Find Print Drivers & Utility Software for you machine

View All
Product User Manuals

Download Manuals, Reference Guides, and other documents for your Product.

View All
Retired Products
View All
Contact Us

Contact us by Email or Phone

View All
Buy Now!
Regular Price: $219.99
Free Shipping!*
Designed for finishing the edges and hems of a wide range of fabrics, including formal wear, linens and stretchy fabrics, and for creating ruffles and decorative edges, the Brother™ 1034D Serger is the perfect addition to any sewing room. This reliable, easy to learn and use 3 / 4 thread serger features 22 built-in stitch functions, and snap-on, interchangeable creative feet. Stitch options include 4 thread overlock, 3 thread overlock, narrow hem, rolled hem, and ribbon lock stitches. With its differential fabric feed, the 1034D helps you achieve better stitch quality, for a more even, professional finish, even on very thin or stretchy fabrics. Threading is easy, with the color-coded upper thread guides and lower looper threading system. Plus, the included snap-on presser feet allow for quick and easy changes to transition to each desired stitch. To help you get started, the 1034D includes an instructional video, and a complete, printed instructional manual in English and Spanish.
  • Two needles and 3-4 thread
  • Versatile stitch options allow you to choose from 4 thread overlock, 3 thread overlock, narrow hem, rolled hem, and ribbon lock stitches.
  • Differential fabric feed for better stitch quality
  • Easy color-coded threading
  • Fast, up to 1300 stitches per minute
  • The stitch width can be easily adjusted between 3.00mm to 7.00mm, helping to provide the perfect stitch width for your project
  • Presser foot pressure adjustment dial
  • 2-point thread tension control device allows for smoother delivery of thread, and the tension for each needle can also be individually adjusted, for even more precise control for each type of thread.
  • Free Arm for Sewing Cuffs and Sleeves.
  • Retractable knife blade helps prevent against accidentally cutting your fabric when you're working close to the edges of rolled hems.
  • Brightly Lit Work Area
  • Safety feature prevents operation when the front cover is open
  • Uses standard sewing machine needles
  • Built-in storage allows you to keep accessory tools on the front panel flip-down door, and use the removable trim trap to store the foot controller, and to collect trim while serging.
  • Bilingual operation manual and instructional CD
Basic Features back to top
Stitch Select Dial
Lighting Bulb

Sewing Features back to top
Maximum Sewing Speed (Stitches Per Minute) 1,300
Feed Dog Differential Feed
Stitch Width (mm) 5.0 - 7.0 mm from left needle
Stitch Length (mm) 2.0 - 4.0 mm (for overlock stitch), 1.0-2.0 mm (for narrow stitch), 1.0 mm (for roll stitch)
Presser Foot Pressure Adjustment Yes
Specialty Feet Included Yes (Additional specialty feet may be available. See Optional Accessories)

Carton Contents back to top
Accessory Storage Yes
Included Accessory Feet Standard foot, blind stitch foot, gathering foot
Other Included Accessories 4 large spools of serger thread, soft cover, accessory bag with needle set, 4 thread nets, 4 thread spool caps, 4 thread nets, tweezers, cleaning brush, hexogonal driver, trim trap, foot controller pedal, instruction DVD, instruction manual

Warranty 25 year limited warranty
Machine Dimensions (H x W x D) 11.73" x 10.98" x 13.19"
Machine Weight 13.45 lbs.
Shipping Dimensions (H x W x D) 14.37" x 15.35" x 17.32"
Shipping Weight 19.84 lbs.
UL/CSA Listed Yes, 110v

Serger Features back to top
Overlock Seam Width 5.0 - 7.0mm from left needle
Double Chain Stitch No
Cover Stitch No
2/3/4 Thread Change No
Differential Feed 0.7 - 2.0mm
Change for Rolled Hemming Removable
Underlooper Threader Yes
Stitch Fingers 1
Knife Drive Type Lower drive

Please click on the categories below to view the optional accessories for the 1034D

SA212 Elastic Foot for Serger

Genuine Brother® Accessory. Attach and sew elastic or tape in one easy step with your overlock machine. Adjustable stitch width up to 12mm. Channel on foot secures elastic or twill tape to fabric eliminating the need for pins as you created a serged edge. Gathers knits as elastic is attached.

SA213 Gathering Foot for Serger

Genuine Brother® Accessory. Gathering and edge finishing in one operation. Serge finish fabric edges with this snap on foot. Channel on foot secures fabric elimnating the need for pins as you create a serged edge and gather single or double layers of fabric. Connect fabric layers and edge finish in one step.

SA211 Pearl Sequence Foot for Serger

Genuine Brother® Accessory. Holds and guides pearls as you use your overlock machine. Guides up to 5mm stranded pearls for one step attachment. Channel for pearl feeding. Adjustable stitch length avoids needle breakage.

SA210 Piping Foot for Serger

Genuine Brother® Accessory. Guide and hold narrow piping as you use your overlock machine. Create your own piping using fabric strips and piping cord. Holds and guides piping eliminating the need for pins as piping and fabric are serged together. Guide and hold zipper in place with guide on the underside of foot to hold teeth of zipper foot in place as zipper and fabric are serged together.

1034D Overview Video
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's Brother! What do you expect. I've had the same serger for over 25 years. It finally gave out so I decided to try a Brother. What a great machine. Easy to thread, great instructions and multiple feet and stitches makes this a must have. Oh, by the way, you can't beat the price.
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for the price This is the first serger I have ever used. The price was great. It makes sewing look professional.
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my new serger! For years I was so intimidated by sergers. I’ve only been sewing for about a year and a half with my Brother sewing machine. I finally decided to get a serger for my birthday in January, and I’m so glad I did! So far I’ve made an apron for one daughter and pajama bottoms for another daughter and going to start an apron for my other daughter. The finish looks so professional and straight! I’m still learning to sew and all my projects seem to have boo boos, but with the serger, they don’t show up as much, since the seam allowance is cut off.
Date published: 2018-03-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from changing needles I have enjoyed my serger and am learning new things with it often! Most people say that the hardest part is threading the machine. Actually, that is not hard at all, once I got it. I even have made some items and it is a great machine to have. The only thing I would change would be how the needles are accessed/ changed. The machine came w/ an Allen wrench to adjust the screw for the needles. I find this hard and complicated to unscrew while holding the needles in place or to take one out and not have the other one fall out too. I can't tell you how many times both needles fall out if I only want one, or how long it takes me to change needles. The presser foot doesn't adjust high enough to get access to the needles easily. It is difficult to adjust one or both the needles to be in place properly. Today, the screw came totally out and it fell in the machine and now I can't get it out! ughh!!!
Date published: 2018-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from bought for my wife made enough points to cover the year she has taken a class to learn how to operate
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it!!! This is an excellent machine!! I have missed having one and am very happy to have this one..!
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the machine I love my serger. However, I am unable to see the demos because I have an iMac and most computers no longer take CD’s. There should be an account that is completely online where purchasers can access all of the visual information. Thank you.
Date published: 2018-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This change everything All those people who sew, as a professional, hobby Or any thing should get this machine. It’s make life so easy. The only problem is the mess , I wish it has a bag for the mess it makes
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased. I am very pleased with my new serger. My old brother serger just gave out. It was only 35 plus years old. My new one came with the gathering foot ( I haven't tried it yet ) and the hemming foot. That one is great, I used it to shorten the sleeves on my daughter's new shirt. I have since ordered the elastic foot and it will be here very soon. I just can't wait for everyone to leave me alone and let me use my new machine. I also have a regular sewing machine by Brother and did have another but gave it to a 12 year old friend that was interested in learning to sew. Brother is a wonderful brand. Oh, I forgot my Brother fax machine.
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine - I Love it! After seeing the types of things my friend made with her serger I just had to get one. My other sewing machine is a Brother SQ9185 and it has performed flawlessly. I did research other brands but in the end chose the Brother 1034D because of Brothers proven high performance and reasonable pricing. The machine is easy to use and threading was not hard at all after watching the videos on YouTube. My friend and I often share project patterns and I have been able to make everything she has made on her 3000 dollar machine. I am enjoying learning serging techniques with this machine.
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from User friendly! I can't compare it to other sergers because this is the only one I have ever used. But although I was intimidated at first, I jumped in and found it to be pretty easy and user friendly. Re-threading is not hard. The dvds that came with it were not very good. I've learned mostly from the internet and youtube.
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine This is a super little machine. Although not an automatic threader, the lower looper threading is soooo much easier than my old machine! I am very pleased.
Date published: 2018-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adds a professional quality to my projects!! I'm very pleased with my Brother 1043d and have recommended this machine to anyone who asks for serger recommendations. this machine is very easy to thread and care for. I can easily switch from 4-thread serge to 3-thread rolled hem (which I use quite often).
Date published: 2018-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why did I wait?? I really love this machine. I was hesitant to purchase because I thought,it's so inexpensive that it must not be well made. Well so far, this is far from that thought.
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best gift ever I've been sewing for years but this is my first surger I was worried about learning to see with it even threading it looked intimidating but I've been able to thread it and sew very easy great product and the DVD made learning about the machine a breeze. Love it!
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy with my serger!!! I've been eyeing this machine for such a long time. It was a little lit out of my budget so I placed another one in lay-away at Walmart. I was so happy when I found the Brother 1034D at a better price than the one in lay-away. I haven't had time to sew and enjoy it, but the test run on the fabric it came with worked like a dream. So happy that I have this machine, which comes highly recommended by so many sewists.
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase Good purchase however very difficult to thread lower threads and instructions not clear on how to set or change the tensions or the size of the stitches.
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little machine Great machine that does the job. Easy to use. I found the best price through Walmart online and it was under $200. Of course you have to thread it yourself, but once you figure it out it works great.
Date published: 2018-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE my Serger! This is easy to thread, use and produces beautiful work. Would definitely recommend to a friend.
Date published: 2018-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Serger I was a little gun shy as the first serger I owned was a beast. It was impossible to thread and so many other issues. I was afraid to change the thread on this machine but I read the directions, followed them exactly and was amazed, IT WORKED!! It's very easy to use. Love it.
Date published: 2018-02-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not nearly as easy as it seems Instruction booklet is generic, not specific to machine I bought. Videos dark and hard to follow. I would prefer better instruction book with pictures. Poor communication with company trying to get information,
Date published: 2018-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellence I have had 2 Singer Sergers, after a year, both failed, ordered 3rd decided to return, would not serge properly???? Did extreme research on Brother Baby Lock 1034D. Finally purchased and I am thrilled beyond words, much easier to thread and there is not constant thread breakage, etc. Very happy with purchase, gotta end review, ready to sew.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it. Makes sewing better. I've owned many brother machines. I fined them very dependable, and easy to operate. The Brother machines are very affordable.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A gift ! And what a wonderful one! Threading it myself wasn’t as difficult as I thought. I nearly bought an automatic threader. Not necessary. This baby does a great job.
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it Easy to thread, quite a few functions for beginers. Good for home bussiness.
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I love the machine but.... The machine is fantastic and sew great! However...I am on my third replacement machine as my first 2 simply lost power while using. I spoke with a representative and we determined it was indeed the machine with no other issues. It happened on both machines bought from Walmart. Having said that it sews beautifully when working!
Date published: 2018-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a keeper I received this for Christmas. I don't know if I would've picked this one out since it isn't carried or supported at my local fabric store, however, I love it. So far, so good. The online videos really helped me break the ice to begin sewing on it. This is my very first overlock machine and I'm very happy thus far. And a different service store within 7 miles does offer free classes! I would highly recommend it to anyone who asked.
Date published: 2018-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Machine!!! This machine is awesome it cuts it sews and finishes all of my products quickly and with ease everything I do now is finished beautifully and it cuts the time I used to take in half!!! awesome machine!!!
Date published: 2018-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Serger I have really enjoyed learning to use the 1034D. It is easy to thread and makes a beautiful seam either on knits or wovens. Thanks!
Date published: 2018-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality Serger The Brother 1034D is a very good serger. It has a few stitches and will serge many types of fabric. It is a very good starter serger for a beginner. It is color coded which makes the threading easier. The place to hold the stitch finger is very convenient. Overall a very good purchase.
Date published: 2018-01-31
  • y_2018, m_3, d_19, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_468
  • loc_en_US, sid_1034D, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_brotherhad
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 16ms
Sign-up For Email Deals, Product Information, and More!
Thank You For Signing Up!
You have been successfully added to our email list!