Latin America
Download individual embroidery designs from Disney®, Nickelodeon and more.
Brother Sews Newsletter
Sign-up for timely information on products features and more. >> subscribe
  • Comunity holder
  • Brother Club
  • Recieve the latest news, tips and
  • tricks from our educators, designs
  • and projects, plus special offers.
  • Sign Up
  • Event Calendar
  • Join Brother at events
  • across the country!
  • View All
  • Sewing Stories
  • Access our current and
  • archived newsletters for
  • free designs, projects
  • and more.
  • View All
  • Read all the Latest News
  • About Brother Products,
  • People, and Events.
  • View All
  • Sign Up for Special
  • Offers & News
  • Brother Product Information
  • and News. Sign Up today!
  • free designs, projects
  • and more.
  • View All
Free Designs, Projects & Videos
Comunity holder

Jump start your creativity with free projects, from crafts and gifts to fashion and home decor

View All
Free Designs

Free embroidery designs are just a click away

View All
Foot of the Month

Each month, we introduce a specialty presser foot along with a corresponding project

View All
Tutorials & Techniques

Step-by-step guides.

View All

Instructions on features and functions of your favorite machines.

View All

Individual embroidery designs including designs from Disney, Warner Brothers and more

View All
Comunity holder
Product Registration

Create a new account or log-in to update or view existing account.

Go to Registration Page
Support Center

Downloads, FAQs, Help and more.

View All
Software Updates

Find Print Drivers & Utility Software for you machine

View All
Product User Manuals

Download Manuals, Reference Guides, and other documents for your Product.

View All
Retired Products
View All
Contact Us

Contact us by Email or Phone

View All
Let your creativity explode with the Innov-ís embroidery-only machine from the Q-Series lineup. Choose from any one of the 138 built-in embroidery designs and enjoy editing ease with the ability to resize, rotate, reposition, and combine designs. Embroider all your projects, everything from home décor to T-shirts, on the large 6″ x 10″ embroidery field.
  • 138 built-in embroidery designs, 140 frame pattern combinations, and 11 embroidery lettering fonts
  • Large 6"x10" embroidery area
  • 8.3" from needle to arm
  • 59% larger workspace (versus previous models)
  • 3.7″ color LCD touch screen display
  • Built-in USB port to import designs from your memory stick
  • Embroider designs at up to 850 stitches per minute
  • On-screen editing includes letter editing, enhanced zoom, resizing, rotating, repositioning, and combining designs
  • Advanced needle threading system and automatic thread tension
  • Wide range of included accessories
  • Over 5,000 designs available for individual purchase at
Basic Features back to top
LCD Size (Horizontal x Vertical) inches 3.2" x 1.8"
Adjustable Screen Brightness Settings Yes
Stitch Select Touch Panel and Touch Sensor
Screensaver No
On-Screen Help Yes
Built-in Languages Yes
Zoom Function Yes
On-Screen Editing Yes
Realistic Preview Yes
Lighting 2 LEDs
Table No
Needle Threading System Advanced
Independent Bobbin Winding Motor No
Thread Sensor Upper Thread Sensor, Bobbin Sensor
Thread Sensor On/Off No
Automated Upper and Lower Thread Cutting No
Quick-Set™ Bobbin Yes
Built-in Memory Yes
Computer Connectivity with Update Capability Yes
Cable Yes
Thread Tension Manual
Mouse Capability by USB No

Sewing Features back to top
Maximum Sewing Speed (Stitches Per Minute) 1300
Specialty Feet Included Yes (Additional specialty feet may be available. See Optional Accessories)

Embroidery Features back to top
Maximum Embroidery Area (X x Y) 6" x 10"
Maximum Embroidery Speed (Stitches Per Minute) 850
Speed Adjustment Yes
Adjustable Design Icon Size Setting No
Built-in Embroidery Designs (Non-License) 138
Built-in Embroidery Designs featuring Disney/Pixar® Characters 0
Built-in Alphabet Fonts 1
Built-in Alphabet Designs Yes
Monogramming Font Styles 0
Built-in Frame Designs 10 Shapes x 14 Stitch Patterns
InnovEye™ Technology No
Snowman® Embroidery Positioning Marker No
Thread Wiper No
Resume Function Yes
Trial Position/Layout Function Yes
Thread Anchor No
Built-in Border Function & Designs No
Sewing Decorative Stitches with Embroidery Arm Attached No
Appliqué Creator Function No
Automatic Feed Thread Cutting No
Curving Text on Screen Editing Yes
Space Reduction among Embroidery Alphabets Yes
Pattern Rotating 1, 10, or 90 Degrees
Drag and Drop Editing Yes
Onscreen Automatic Density Adjustment (STB) No
My Custom Design™ Feature No
Color Shuffling™ Function No
Print and Stitch™ Technology No
Programmable Monochrome Embroidery No

Carton Contents back to top
Accessory Storage Yes
Included Accessory Feet Embroidery Foot
Other Included Accessories Needle set, Bobbin (4), Seam ripper, Scissors, Cleaning brush, Screwdriver (large), Screwdriver (small), L-shaped screwdriver, Disc-shaped screwdriver, Spool caps (4 – large, 2 medium, small), Thread spool insert (mini king thread spool), Spool net, Embroidery bobbin thread (60 weight, white), Accessory bag, Dust cover, Operation manual, Quick reference guide, Embroidery design guide, Bobbin center pin and instruction sheet, Alternate bobbin case (no color on the screw), Power supply cord: UL CSA-LF, Registration sheet, Premium Warranty for US, 2&5 Warranty for US
Included Embroidery Hoops 1 (6" x 10")

Warranty 2/6/25 year premium warranty. See premium warranty for details
Machine Dimensions (H x W x D) 27.28" x 16.57" x 11.81"
Machine Weight 29.54 lbs (with embroidery unit attached)
Shipping Dimensions (H x W x D) 23.22" x 19.29" x 20.47"
Shipping Weight 31.53 lbs
UL/CSA Listed No
Quick Reference Stitch Guides Yes

Please click on the categories below to view the optional accessories for the Innov-ís NQ1400E

SASEBQ Q-Series Rolling Bag Set

This fashionable, custom 2-piece luggage set is specifically designed to transport and protect Q-Series machines. Included are a rolling bag and a bag sized to fit either the Q-Series embroidery arm or extension table. The rolling, front-loading machine bag features a telescopic handle and a sturdy, easy-glide chassis. The matching accessory bag features a matching canvas shoulder strap. Both bags feature a contemporary stylish tapestry fabric and multiple zippered storage compartments designed to hold embroidery hoops, notions, and supplies!

Large Workspace
Enhanced Font Editing
Embroidery Features
Touch Sensor Control Panel
A Wide Variety of Built-in Stitches & Designs
Accessories That Enhance Your Creativity
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not so sure I actually won this machine, I did not purchase it. I am not new to embroidery by any means, but it seems as though this machine has a lot of hiccups in trusted designs I use often. I’ve only had the machine a few months and am attributing it to user error. I will say it is very easy to use, especially having previous single needle embroidery machine experience.
Date published: 2018-02-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good machine for the money It's the next biggest from the PE770, and does more. I like the bigger screen, bigger hoop, and ability to combine on the touch screen. I don't like that a couple months after buying it the 1600 was released and it cuts jump stitches, and no one told me it was coming out in all my trips to check out machines. I thoroughly HATE that these machines are sold at dealers only!!!! Let me say that again, I HATE that these machines are sold at dealers only! Seriously, how much cheaper could they be if we could order direct?!
Date published: 2018-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this machine Nice upgrade from the PE770. Stitches beautifully, easy to use, affordable. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2018-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase I love my embroidery machine . It is perfect for what I wanted. I would definitely refer this machine to anyone looking to buy one .
Date published: 2018-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely happy with my new machine This machine, for me, was overwhelmingly the best option after looking at several brands and models. Performance has been excellent and I use my machine almost daily. I purchased 3 additional hoops in different sizes at the time we bought the machine so I have a lot of options for projects. I couldn’t be happier with my machine and highly recommend both this machine and Brother sewing machines. Secondly, the dealer we bought this from is superior to others in our area in my opinion. Definitely 5 stars for both my machine and the dealer.
Date published: 2018-01-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Continued Failure My machine has been in the shop more than at my home. Brothers has replaced everything on my machine. Seems to be better now.
Date published: 2018-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the price and quality of stitching The quality of the stitches are excellent for the price of this machine. I only with it had an option of changing colors available to be changed on the machine. I also would like to be able to add at least 4 designs to a screen. Also an added option of being able to add stitches around the sewing area to secure the fabric to the interfacing which can be easily removed after embroidering the design would be excellent. A laser alignment light for doing embroidery which will link with the previous design would be nice. Another nice option would be showing exactly where you are stitching on the screen I have your software pe10 designs; however, it only allows you to use seven colors with your automatic digitizer. If you knew exactly what and where you are stitching. you could hit the stop button. change colors, and be able to make a design with more colors.
Date published: 2018-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like it ok I like it ok, money wise it’s a nice machine, wish it used bigger hoops.
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spyderlady The large hoop is great but think it would be nice to have a 4x4 hoop as well
Date published: 2018-01-03
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT EMBROIDERY MACHINE Very easy to use and the 6” x 10” working area is very good.
Date published: 2017-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stitches beautifully I love this machine. The hoop is easier to use and I love the colored screen to see the image that is being stitched. I also like having my embroidery machine seperate from my sewing machine. I can keep piecing my quilt while the embroidery machine is doing the embroidering.
Date published: 2017-12-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thread Shredder Very Disappointed,Bought it in April of 2017 and has been shredding and eating thread since day one. Been in twice the dealer lower the speed to 400 I said wow really from 850 to 400 which is the lowest, doesn't matter still doing the same. I have tried serval different threads it doesn't change a thing. Very frustrating makes you to want and toss it out the window. I guess I bought the one made on a Monday or Friday.
Date published: 2017-12-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 1400 E This machine has given me the flux every since the first day. I try to embroider and something always goes wrong but never resumes where it left off. I think it's the speed when I trying anything other than 500 spm the thread gets caught the needle breaks the bobbin gets caught but it never resumes where it stopped I'm still under warrenty the store refuses to get a new. I've taken it for maintance twice always return with same issue. I have the prs100 awesome no problems. I've been embroidering on it for over a year never had this many problems.
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NIce machine I struggle with threading the upper thread. I find it very hard to slide the thread behind stop #6, needle bar thread guide. My dealer advised me to lower the needle, which does help, but I still fight this every time I change thread colors. I find it hard to find what I need to know in the manual. The fonts/shading in the manual can be very hard to read. For instance, I have no idea on page E-4, in the right hand column, what button I should be pressing in step 4, with the dark shading, I cannot read what is within that box. Removing the needle plate cover screws with the L-screwdriver is very difficult. The needle plate cover does not slide forward, there is a clip on the right that you have to get undone. It has been a frustrating day today with needing to get inside the machine. I am sure it will be easier next time. Overall I am very happy with my machine and am glad I bought it. Brothers built in designs are not my style, so everything I am doing involves buying designs on-line. I can live with that.
Date published: 2017-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Update/ upgrade Really enjoy using this machine. Still learning how to use it but so far it’s been great This replaces a Bernina embroidery machine and so far I’m happy with it it is a better machine than what I had.
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great machine This isn’t my second embroidery machine from Brother. Like it very much except that the machine does not embroider very close to the edge of the hoop, necessitating using the larger hoop more often than I would like. My other one embroidered a little closer. That said, it is very intuitive to use, and I have had many compliments on my final products.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my new machine - Brother Innov NQ1400E I love this machine. I am not using it for business. I just wanted to be able to personalize gifts that I make and this is perfect for that. Some day I may upgrade to the next best thing, but currently happy with this machine.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge step up from my SE400! I’ve been astounded by the performance of my new NQ1400E. This machine is so much faster, more powerful and produces much more professional-quality sew-outs than my SE 400 “training machine”. Finally, my digitized designs closely resemble what I see on my computer screen. I highly recommend it!
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Pleased This is a very nice machine. It’s very intuitive and easy to use. It also stitches well without error. My only issue is that the foot is too low. It often gets caught in jump stitches so you have to watch like a hawk. Many projects have been ruined because I turned my back for a second.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine The perfect intermediate embroidery machine I love it! Only thing I would change is to increase the stitches per minute from 850 to 1000
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good First Embroidery Machine!! I came across this machine by accident. I originally intended to purchase the Brother Simplicity sewing machine to replace the Elna 9000 that died on me. Someone had returned their NQ1400E to the sewing store I was at "because it was too hi-tech" for them. At that point, I was not sure I really wanted to spend big bucks on an embroidery machine and was "just looking" at the embroidery machines they had. Much to my surprise, the store owner offered the returned-&-just-serviced NQ1400E at a steal of a price and I took it home. I love using this machine and have made several projects that turned out beautifully.
Date published: 2017-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm glad I bought it I love how its easy to thread. My machine is NOT quiet at all. The rotate feature is weird too. I'm always using the mirror tool. It was so easy to figure out how to use. There's only two things I don't like, the noise and that it doesn't have disney.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machines I have used Brother machines for years. This is my third embroidery machine. My first I sold and my second has become my go-to sewing machine. I only bought a new one to be able to do larger designs. The designs look so professional. Thank you for such a great product.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great machine for the price NQ 1400 E is a wonderful embroidery machine my only want is for a larger led display screen. This machine runs like a dream and has awesome self threading needle.
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I feel like I can do anything now!!!! I haven't had my class on my machine yet, but just from making several items to see what it's like, I'm in Love! The machine is quiet. It had great lighting and a larger area to work on. Plus all the hoops and new locking system. I feel like I've died and gone to heaven!
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Machine.... I really like the NQ-1400E, it is just the right size for what I embroider on.
Date published: 2017-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My review is for innov-is NQ1400E If it included the Mickey Mouse software this machine would be absolutely perfect.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoying very much I very much enjoy my recent purchase. If I had only one complaint it would be the bobbin threading. It seems to be so sensitive, otherwise it does a beautiful job.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Purchase Love the way the machine operates. The large hoop is fantastic. Editing is very easy. The only thing I would change about this machine is that I would like to be able to connect directly to my computer so that I could print my designs out to see the actual size before embroidering and transfer designs directly from a CD.
Date published: 2017-09-25
  • y_2018, m_3, d_24, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_234
  • loc_en_US, sid_NQ1400E, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_brotherhad
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 15ms
Sign-up For Email Deals, Product Information, and More!
Thank You For Signing Up!
You have been successfully added to our email list!