All Products List



MFC-J985DW

Work Smart All-in-One with INKvestment Cartridges

Estimated Street Price: $199.99*




Download Brochure  
MFC-J985DW is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 446.
  • y_2018, m_2, d_23, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_446
  • loc_en_US, sid_mfcj985dw, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_brother
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
View Product Demo




Rated 4 out of 5 by from Picture quality less than expected I expected higher picture quality. Pictures do not print as clear as expected.
Date published: 2018-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great printer so far. Replaced old Brother printer CW490 that still worked like new. Wanted one with AirPrint and set up the automatic reordering of ink from Amazon. Haven’t even put a dent in these in Cartridges yet.
Date published: 2018-02-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unstoppable Self Cleaning Cycles Drink Ink This printer has reasonable features and works fine. The big problem is that it has a self-cleaning cycle that comes on constantly, even if the printer is turned off. So regardless of frequency of actual printing, as long as the printer is plugged in, you'll be out of ink in all cartridges in a few months. Furthermore, there's no way to disable the self cleaning, and no way to reduce its frequency of occurrence. If you google the topic, you'll see others have complained about this to no avail. I'm under the impression this self cleaning happens with almost all printers in the Brother inkjet line. The manufacturer's official response is that the self cleaning cycles are necessary to ensure the printer generates a high-quality print every time it's used. What they don't say is that this is an excellent way of forcing consumers to buy overprices ink cartridges continuously. The Brother MFC-J985DW is advertised as an ink miser when compared to other printers, which is the biggest reason for my choosing it. Unfortunately, the unstoppable cleaning cycles more than negate what small amount of ink I may have saved during actual printing. This is my first Brother printer, and it will be my last.
Date published: 2018-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I Would buy it again Very pleased with this printer. Seems efficient on ink. I love that you can shrink and enlarge things up to 200 %; & that you can copy in a draft / dark grey to save ink. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star is that you don't have 4 or 5 choices in light to dark grey scale. . . it"s either black or draft. I like that I can feed it 6 or 7 pages to copy & not have to load them individually.
Date published: 2018-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best printer so far This printer was easy to install. Easy to understand how to edit the settings and the quality of the print is great. Compared to our previous printer, this one gets a gold star. Brother printers will be our first choice when we need one in the future.
Date published: 2018-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features with a Small Footprint I chose the MFC-J985DW for a number of reasons: we have two larger Brother laser printers which have always been great and the cost of ink replacement as calculated by Staples was better than the competition. It also has a low profile and a small footprint which work better on my small desk. I do a lot of scanning and it has been good. I would have preferred two sided scanning (which the salesman thought it had) but not enough to pay more or have a larger unit. The print quality in color is good but certainly not excellent - then again I've never tried to optimize it. B&W is excellent - vivid and fast.
Date published: 2018-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm impressed Photo quality much better than expected. Scanning, 2-sided copying, speed, print quality all very good. Ink life seems good - still on starter ink package. Wish paper tray was larger. Good price.
Date published: 2018-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but some reservations I am new to the brother technology and in general I am satisfied with my MFC 1985DW. I am a little disappointed in the color for documents. I had a hard time getting clarity. I waws also disappointed in the lack of flexibility in enlarging. Third when I had a rare paper jam, I could not find the green levers inside the printer as instructed.
Date published: 2018-02-15
  • y_2018, m_2, d_23, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_446
  • loc_en_US, sid_mfcj985dw, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_brother
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*Street pricing may vary
Buy Now!
Valid Thru 3/3/2018
Regular Price: $199.99 Instant Rebate: $30.00 Free Shipping!*
After Savings: $169.99 Limit 2 Per Customer
Compare Models
MFC-J885DW
Est Price:
$129.99*


MFC-J985DW XL
Est Price:
$299.99*



Support
Software downloads
and updates, FAQs,
Manuals and more...