Sign up for timely
information on products,
features and more.
>>subscribe

CM550DX


CM550DX is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 126.
  • y_2017, m_12, d_15, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_126
  • loc_en_US, sid_CM550DX, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_brotherhad
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT


 




WHAT'S INCLUDED
FEATURES
SPECIFICATIONS
MORE INFO
REVIEWS

Features










More Information


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Super easy to use. Love the results. So many possibilities with this machine
Date published: 2017-08-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Blades don't last This does a good job on paper but I have not been successful trying to cut fabric. The blades dull very quickly and I would hope they would eventually have a recycle program whereby they could be re sharpened.
Date published: 2017-06-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Over Estimated I've been using this model for 5 months. I tried cutting 1.5mm thick soft leather with the HD long blade. It couldn't cut completely through plus it scratched the surface of the project. Since I work mostly with leather, I don't think the Scan N Cut will serve me to the level I expected. Its good for lighter weight craft projects.
Date published: 2017-06-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very disappointed I bought it to cut fabric and it does a TERRIBLE job. Several friends also bought it and when we compare knife settings all use different, your guide lines for settings are off for the knife. Have to startch the living daylights on the fabric.
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Brother CM550DX Flexible cut & scan possibilities The Brother CM550DX opened the door for easy scanning of appliques and what a great way to turn right around and cut not only 1 of each but any amount. I look forward to learning more!
Date published: 2017-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprised! Took a few trys to figure it out! I am Definately not an expert but it worked great for a school project that we needed designs. I definately like the preprogram designs. I could have used a few more pictures to explain but I'm visual
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my ScannCut Love using this to cut vinyl for shirts, mugs, can koozies, etc. The more I use it, the more comfortable I become with it, just need more practice. Would like to upgrade to the Scan n Cut2, but can't really justify that.
Date published: 2017-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use I own several machine. I just love the multiple use.
Date published: 2017-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brother scanNcut 550 So far I really like the 550 scanNcut by brother, it's just a matter of learning all the things you can accomplish with this machine. I have finished a 3-D project that goes in a shadow box, will use as a wedding/anniversary gift. Have also done some simple lettering using sticky back vinyl. Finished an applique of a lamb using white vinyl as the applique piece. Havel learned to cut my applique pieces using the scanNcut, saves an huge amount of time by having all the pieces pre-cut to place when needed. Well guess I really do like my scanNcut
Date published: 2017-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Scan & Cut I love the ability to create applique' without having to trace pattern. This machine makes the process so much faster.
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I accidentally bought the scan n cut 550 thinking it was better than the 350 but now wish I had the 650 model. I really wanted the wireless capability and to have more images. I talked to the place that I bought my machine from and they wanted $300 to trade up to the 650. I don't understand why the 350 lets you purchase the option to buy the wireless capability but the 550 doesn't it doesn't make any sense to me. Also, I didn't get the stuff that came with the 650 such as the cutting pressure guide or tools. I do however love the concept of the scan n cut
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New life! I just wanted to take the time to thank you all and tell you a story. I have been a brother advocate since I was 12. Every sewing machine I own is a brother and after a couple years of researching the best cutting machine I opted for a brother scan n cut 2. My mother bought me one for my birthday but sent it to the wrong address so she ordered another one and had it sent to her unsure if the first one would make it to me. It did. The 2nd one arrived at my mothers and she had no clue what to do with it. She thought about just sending it back but I encouraged her to keep it and try it out. She made fun of me for wanting one often asking, "well what can you do with it?" I encouraged her more and showed her many things on Pinterest she could do. She was reluctant. You see my mother has lupus and over the last year she has become discouraged as she is also a sewer and crafter but lupus has made it hard to use her hands in the same way. My mother did start using the scan n cut, and she fell in love with it! She sends me all kinds of pictures of the different things she has done, wedding favors for my sister's upcoming wedding, tumblers, tshirts, you name it! She has already purchased loads of vinyl, mats and other accessories. She told me yesterday she feels like she has her life back with this machine. So thank you! It is so wonderful to see the spark back in my mom, who used to make such beautiful things, and now can again. I love my machine too by the way! Thank you so much for always being such a great brand!
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Go To Cutting Machine I love the Scan N Cut. I find it to be the most versatile cutting machine on the market. I also have a Cricut but don't use it much since I got the Scan N Cut. My upgrade of the machine would be it's ability to recognize items that are not outlined in black. I do have trouble getting some things that look OK to be recognized.
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use This machine is another easy to use Brother machine. If you use other Brother machines you will find this quite intuitive. I use it heavily to cut patches in my business where I do patches for television and film productions here in Atlanta. My only complaint would be that the mat wore out and got gunky super quick, so I bought a few more to have on hand. I've been reviewing some user forums and trying out some of the cleaning techniques and mat preservation hacks. Also note that with my heavy use for patches, I learned quickly to occasionally clean the blade and the blade holder to help maintain a clean cut and always, always, always test cut before a job.
Date published: 2017-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great machine!! love it. Easy to use!! I love this machine! The possibilites are endless. The scan N cut canvas site is awesome. I woud love to be able to sell this one item in my shop. I have someone who can teach classes for me.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cutter So easy to use. I have cut balsa wood to make cards and stenciled on a couple of wine glasses for my friends wedding shower.
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the machine, but..... I love this machine, however, there are some features that can be improved upon. I heavily depend on this machine for my business and would love to see some added features that Brother should address.
Date published: 2017-03-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I love this machine........but The mats don't stay sticky. All the accessories are too expensive! I like what it does and I like that it stands alone.
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I am sure I will love it I wish there were intro classes to go with the product. Other than Julie's U Tube videos. It would be ok if I got my machine when Julie got her first one. It's hard to find intro videos! I am a see and do person. I like for people to show me....then I can do it. I think when I finally figure it out, I will love it
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the scan n cut The machine is awesome. Has a learning curve that takes some time. Tutorials are wonderful, mat needs much improvement.
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Craft Machine I've always wanted a product to help me craft at a more mature level. Plus, having tremors has decreased the fun and ability of any hobby. So when I saw this machine and viewed the many videos about it, I had to try it. The Scan N Cut has allowed me to explore avenues of creative crafting that I thought I never would have been able to achieve. First, for me, there was a rather moderately steep learning curve. But I was so enthusiastic, that, with a deep breath, I was able to jump over that curve with no difficulty. I first started with updating the machine, watched a how-to video and it was done in a snap. I then wanted to cut out from construction paper a variety of different sized and shaped snow flakes for my Christmas decorations. Using videos again, I was actually able to cut out the perfectly sized snowflakes that I needed. Since then, I have done a few smaller projects, and the end result has been the same. Perfection! Just last week I made several beautiful personalized Valentine's Day cards. It was easy and fun, thanks to Scan N Cut.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It will take a little practice. I was very excited about the Scan and Cut because I could us the machine for several of my crafts. It will take a little bit of practice but I do think that I will love the machine. I did not purchase the newer model because I really did not need all of the new additions. This machine will be just great for me.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the money! Bought specifically because I could upgrade it to read PES cut files for applique, and the upgrade allowed it to scan N cut a 12 x 24 mat. Upgrade worked seamlessly and I love how it cuts. I have a lot to learn, but so far I am really liking this machine.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great upgrade from what I had. Love my scan n cut. This was an upgrade for me and while you have upgraded this product and it's taken me forever to try it, now thanks to my new dealer giving free lessons. While the directions in the box are great, I just didn't seem to "get it". I wanted to cut fabric and it does this beautifully. Wow thanks for such a great product. Now do I want to upgrade again? Well maybe!!!!!
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my Brother Scan N Cut CM550/550DX IF I had found this page two years ago I would have written my review then. I love my Scan N Cut. I found this machine Via Julie Fei Fan Balzer informercial 2013 and HSN shopping net work in 2015. I purchased my machine from my local Brother dealer. I took it home and took it out of the box and started right away with it. I have been doing many different projects that that machine can do since then. I follow Julie through Brother scanncut designer page, you tube etc. I also read her daily blog. If you have not gotten one of these machines yet and you like to fussy cut or cut fabric or just cut things out then this is the machine for you. I use mine for fabric, paper and craft foam, stencil material etc. I have all the kits that are out now including the embossing kit. I could not be happier with my Scan N Cut.
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great This is a great product. Easy to use. Cuts vinyl very easy.
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Totally love what it can do; I haven't done much, but have seen what my friend did! Just wish I could transfer directly my computer to it.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does Everything This machine is limited only by what you can dream up for it to accomplish. The instructions are well written. My only criticism of the instruction " they require a bit of hunting to find the topic that follows whatever project I am learning." I am 78 so the problem might be only mine.
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best machine for newbie to craft/vinyl Computer professional, but this crafting is new to me. Silhouette was old school Windows, but PC software is so 2010. Web based and good scanner a must, but Circuit locks their customer to products that are obsolete and require higher costs at every turn. Brother was the right mix. 80% you can do without a PC or web. But you can use Brother's web based app or Google Draw and Google Fonts saving as SVG file on USB to import to machine. Unlimited free internet artwork and don't need TrueType fonts with Google.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a fun machine I have had my scan n cut for a few years and didn't know how to use it until I went to a class. Love it now.
Date published: 2016-10-31
  • y_2017, m_12, d_15, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_126
  • loc_en_US, sid_CM550DX, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_brotherhad
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
 
Sign-up For Email Deals, Product Information, and More!
Thank You For Signing Up!
You have been successfully added to our email list!
Close