All Products List



MFC-8950DWT

High-Performance Laser All-in-One with Advanced Duplex, Wireless Networking and Dual Paper Trays

Estimated Street Price: $699.99*




Download Brochure  
MFC-8950DWT is rated 4.1667 out of 5 by 30.
  • 2016-05-05T06:13CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_MFC8950DWT, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_Brother
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT



Rated 3 out of 5 by from TECH SUPPORT IS USELESS The Printer functions were excellent but had a problem with printing where the page will be all dark from a glitch of the drum unit. We followed the direction from tech support and even replaced the drum unit. Within a month the same problem continued with new drum unit. Tech Support refused to replace the drum unit or the Printer. I will not buy another Brother because of Tech Support.
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best! I am an IT guy and I’ve been replacing traditional copier/printers with the 8950 for several months now and my clients have not missed a beat! The only option missing is the staple option. All of my clients are saving hundreds of dollars a month by giving up the traditional copier service contract and moving to the 8950DWT. Simply put, it’s a work horse and manages its printer cartridges well. The speed and reliability of the unit is significant. A must purchase for the medium to small office environment.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Machine for Small Business Owned for 1 month in a 10 person office and am extremely pleased with this machine. Complete browser management made it easy to set up individual scan mailboxes, a fax address book and direction of incoming faxes to a network folder instead of printing. Impressively we have so far had only 2 document jams in 4500 prints and 4200 scans.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I have previously owned two other Brother MFC printers over the years. The MFC-895DWT is the best of all of them tying in various options for connectivity and duplexing capabilities both on printing and scanning. I have always used two paper trays over the years one for letter and the other for legal size paper. Usually I purchased the second tray, but this one comes with a second try. It is an expensive top of the line printer, but you get what you pay for.
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reliable and Economical for a Small Office I am a solo attorney and use this as the sole printer/scanner/copier for myself and my paralegal in my office. I wasn't very happy with the faxing function of this while hooked to my VOIP system, so I switched to efax. Nonetheless, the consumables are inexpensive (generics largely available if you prefer) and the machine rarely misfeeds or jams. Printer and scanner are also very fast. I have a few small nitpicks about the machine that could really make this the perfect unit for me. First, after it runs out of letter paper in the first tray, it automatically defaults to the legal sized paper in the second tray. Also, the ADF cannot automatically detect legal sized paper so in order to scan legal sized paper, you have to go through the computer software to adjust the paper size and scan through there. As a result, you cannot copy legal sized paper from the machine either - again, you need to handle this through the computer. Last, the controls on the machine's touchscreen are slow and laggy and can be frustrating when you are in a rush. All in all, I'm very happy with the machine and would probably replace it with the same unit if this one were to fail, but I can't help but think how easily it could be made better.
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Economic Alternative to Lease/Purchase I have owned (and continue to own) printers, fax machines and scanners (both flatbed and high-speed), and I have owned and leased copiers. Until recently, I balked at owning either high-speed scanners or copy machines because they were generally either outside my budget or lacked the features and speed my office required. Not so with the MFC-8950DW and its two-drawer sibling, the MFC-8950DWT, which is really the same machine with an included, but separately boxed, second drawer. So far (since I have only owned and used it for a couple of months), it has behaved flawlessly for what I have used it - primarily a copier, with some duplex printing. The controls are intuitive, so I have yet to have to read the ample manual that came with it, other than at setup, which proceeded flawlessly. It is hooked up to my wireless network, so any of my office stations can print to it. The copies it makes are clear, and if anything, initially somewhat dark, until I set the darkness level a little bit lighter. And it's fast, at or nearly equal to my commercial rental, and since it both scans and prints in duplex, it by far outdistances the rental when I am printing in duplex, since my old machine took each copy through a complex mechanical second printing pass before the copy was deposited in the completed pile. But what sold me is the economics. As long as I don't need to make originals or copies larger than the 8950's maximum 8 1/2" by 11" sheet size, which comprises at least 99.9% of my output, I can amortize over one year the full cost of the printer and its copies, including the toner and eventual new drum, to about what my commercial rental was costing me for the same period. The difference being that after the first year of purchase and operation, I have paid for my Brother what I would have paid under my lease, so my costs for any use AFTER that first year (when I have only operating costs) are dramatically LESS than leasing. Before purchasing, I spoke with my current copier lessor about something it might have for comparison, but nothing with the same features and remotely comparable price point was available across its three available commercial product lines. My monthly duty cycle falls comfortably within the cycle specified by Brother. I admit that I miss a larger platen size for reduction copying, but for the vast majority of my office work, large documents are not involved, and the wireless connection and duplex (and greater) printing options more than compensate for me. The Bother warranty assures that at minimum the 8950DWT will operate during my amortization period, and as I say, thereafter it becomes an ever-increasing bargain. Since I already have dedicated printers, scanners and fax machines, I do not utilize those features on the 8950DWT, and cannot speak with any authority as to them. I have two other Brother printers, neither of which have had any problems after their respective warranty periods have expired. Hopefully, the 8950 will be the same. Well done, Brother!
Date published: 2015-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good machine! Overall great printer and scanner. A bit slow on the scanner side but does the job we need it too. We print/scan roughly 3500 pages of material per week and we are happy with our Brother MFC-8950DW. In addition, we use the super high yield toner cartridges and they are absolutely worth the money!
Date published: 2015-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for a small business You need a professional to set up scan to email feature. The printer status shows offline sometimes and my other printers never did that so I changed the sleep setting to 90 min which is the max and that problem may of gone away. Besides that this printer is great for a 15-20 person office. I cna print from my cell phone which is cool
Date published: 2015-06-05
  • 2016-05-05T06:13CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_MFC8950DWT, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_Brother
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*Street pricing may vary
Interested in More Than 10 Devices?
Click to Engage a Sales Professional & Learn about our Volume Program
down arrow
How can we assist you?
Compare Models
MFC-8950DW
Est Price:
$599.99*



Support
Software downloads
and updates, FAQs,
Manuals and more...