All Products List

Support for Printers

Find the Support You Need for Your Printer:

support

Contact Brother by Email, Chat or Phone

Get the Latest Drivers, Software Updates, Manuals, FAQs, Videos and More!


Locate a Brother Authorized Service Center to provide support on your Brother products.



HL-3170CDW

Digital Color Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex

Estimated Street Price: $249.99*




Download Brochure  
HL-3170CDW is rated 4.04054054054054 out of 5 by 296.
  • 2016-09-30T06:07CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_296
  • loc_en_US, sid_HL3170CDW, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_Brother
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
View Product Demo



Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good basic printer with easy to use features. This is my first laser printer. It was easier to setup and use than I thought. Its good for basic printing. The toner cartridges are easy to replace and recycle. For duplex printing using the manual feed tray, I ended up feeding each document through one at a time. There may be an easier way. I don't like that you have to manually check toner levels. I wish it would pop up automatically with each print job. Also, colors don't print exactly as they are on screen. I knew this when I purchased the printer, but some of the variations are surprising every once in a while. I haven't had the printer long and have only replaced toner when it was empty. Overall, I like the printer. I will eventually need another larger printer and will look for another Brother printer.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from printer is ok, but parts like the tray made bad. the printer was ok , but the tray paper hold broken after few printing. my printer still new. but not function any more. mad.. after just a short use
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Brother 3170 color printer It works great but if you press OK button for many different reasons (when setting up, rebooting or re-sending data), it will print out lots of precious papers for just testing purpose automatically. there is no way to stop it. you will feel frustration when pressing this OK button.
Date published: 2016-09-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lots of trouble I've had more trouble with this printer than we've ever owned. Poor quality printing Frequent ink blow-outs Had to replace all drums at under 3500 prints Doesn't resemble laser print quality Cost of ink is incredibly high for what you can print
Date published: 2016-09-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good value but not easy fixes! Even though I like features the instructions fall short and I still can't get crinkles out of paper.
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from brother - HL - 3170CDW This printer prints perfect copies every time. It is easy to program and even print wirelessly from an IPad. It seems like a very reliable machine. When I was purchasing the printer a gentleman with 7 Brother printers highly recommended it.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from difficult to operate original purchase and communication with customer support was a disaster. wifi would never connect, forced to use usb. successful use of manual feeder to print envelopes appears to depend on timing and luck. at times, printed paper has crinkled waves
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Only good for basic printing needs I've only purchased Brother color lasers for my business. I do a good amount of printing on "heavy" paper (65lb). It's never been a problem till this printer. It can handle it but not easily and definitely not in duplex mode. And the manual feed with any weight paper is terrible. Doesn't "catch" the paper well and miss-feeds more that half the time. Forget envelopes. If you do a lot of "manual" feed jobs, pass on this printer. If you print a lot of legal paper, pass again. It all falls on the floor. And the color saturation is not the best. Not terrible but not great. If you print stuff in the "BR-Script3" mode it's better but it takes FOREVER to print. Decent basic color laser but do not ask it to do anything special. "Just the basics ma'am".
Date published: 2016-09-11
  • 2016-09-30T06:07CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_296
  • loc_en_US, sid_HL3170CDW, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_Brother
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*Street pricing may vary
Buy Now!
Regular Price: $249.99 Free Shipping!*
Compare Models
HL-3140CW
Est Price:
$199.99*



Support
Software downloads
and updates, FAQs,
Manuals and more...