All Products List

Support for Printers

Find the Support You Need for Your Printer:

support

Contact Brother by Email, Chat or Phone

Get the Latest Drivers, Software Updates, Manuals, FAQs, Videos and More!


Locate a Brother Authorized Service Center to provide support on your Brother products.



HL-3170CDW

Digital Color Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex

Estimated Street Price: $249.99*




Download Brochure  
HL-3170CDW is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 392.
  • y_2017, m_4, d_29, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_392
  • loc_en_US, sid_HL3170CDW, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_brother
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
View Product Demo




Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feature rich. Setup tricky, but worth the effort. The wireless setup was a little tricky. I use my laptop in my office and at home, both with independent, secure wireless networks. Totally worth the extra effort to work through the minefield. Printer performs beautifully. My wife works from home, requiring dependable and trouble-free technical equipment. This fits the bill.
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Well! This machine seems simple and efficient to operate. The output is uniformly good. The price was extremely reasonable for a laser printer. My only concern, which I'm sure you have heard before, is the price of the toner cartridges!
Date published: 2017-04-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor performance Product initially connected to network but after 2 weeks would fail to connect. Tech support could not correct problem, printer was returned. Had a HP inkjet given to me and it works flawlessly. Disappointed
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what I want Compact for a color laser printer and energy efficient-- I haven't noticed any difference in my electric bill. The color output is fine. While not suitable for high quality photos, it does an acceptable job with images on plain paper and very good with graphs, charts and web images. For instance, I print a web image of sunspots to use alongside a solar telescope and this plain paper print is about as good as a plain paper print from my Epson photo printer (which of course is far superior for high-res prints on photo paper). Text is excellent, but do follow the recommendation to select Black and White in the print dialogue (unless you need color). It does seem to make a difference. This is the first printer I've had with automatic duplexing. I love this feature.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't work/communicate with anything! It printed ONCE! From my iPhone. I have repeatedly tried getting it to print again -no luck. Won't print from my Mac Mini nor my windows 10 laptop. Uninstalled/reinstalled-NOTHING!! I'm thoroughly disgusted. In doing further research, I am not alone-this seems to be a routine problem. I want to return it. DO NOT BUY BROTHER!!!
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's OK My biggest complaint so far is that this printer won't alert you when the toner is low. I've never had a printer before, including Brothers, which wouldn't flash an alert when the toner or ink cartridges are low. Not a pleasant surprise, to say the least, when the printer stops working in the middle of a large print job. Secondly, paper curl is a problem, even though the option to reduce paper curl is checked off in the printer preferences. Thirdly, the ink tends to smear if touched within a couple minutes of printing. Mostly a problem when printing and applying mailing labels. Oh, don't even think about printing photos as the quality is terrible.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy Performs better than expected-I am very pleased. I haven't managed to get the wireless function to work. I have spent so much time trying and have pretty much given up. However, even without wireless, I am satisfied with the color printing results and would recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it! I don't tax the printer with heavy usage or complicated color prints. But it delivers on time every time.
Date published: 2017-04-05
  • y_2017, m_4, d_29, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_392
  • loc_en_US, sid_HL3170CDW, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_brother
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*Street pricing may vary
Buy Now!
Regular Price: $249.99 Free Shipping!*
Compare Models
HL-3140CW
Est Price:
$199.99*



Support
Software downloads
and updates, FAQs,
Manuals and more...