Latin America
Download individual embroidery designs from Disney®, Nickelodeon and more.
Brother Sews Newsletter
Sign-up for timely information on products features and more. >> subscribe
  • Comunity holder
  • Brother Club
  • Recieve the latest news, tips and
  • tricks from our educators, designs
  • and projects, plus special offers.
  • Sign Up
  • Event Calendar
  • Join Brother at events
  • across the country!
  • View All
  • Sewing Stories
  • Access our current and
  • archived newsletters for
  • free designs, projects
  • and more.
  • View All
  • Read all the Latest News
  • About Brother Products,
  • People, and Events.
  • View All
  • Sign Up for Special
  • Offers & News
  • Brother Product Information
  • and News. Sign Up today!
  • free designs, projects
  • and more.
  • View All
Free Designs, Projects & Videos
Comunity holder
Projects

Jump start your creativity with free projects, from crafts and gifts to fashion and home decor

View All
Free Designs

Free embroidery designs are just a click away

View All
Foot of the Month

Each month, we introduce a specialty presser foot along with a corresponding project

View All
Tutorials & Techniques

Step-by-step guides.

View All
Videos

Instructions on features and functions of your favorite machines.

View All
Ibroidery

Individual embroidery designs including designs from Disney, Warner Brothers and more

View All
Support
Comunity holder
Product Registration

Create a new account or log-in to update or view existing account.

Go to Registration Page
Support Center

Downloads, FAQs, Help and more.

View All
Software Updates

Find Print Drivers & Utility Software for you machine

View All
Product User Manuals

Download Manuals, Reference Guides, and other documents for your Product.

View All
Retired Products
View All
Contact Us

Contact us by Email or Phone

View All
Buy Now!
Regular Price: $219.99
Free Shipping!*
Designed for finishing the edges and hems of a wide range of fabrics, including formal wear, linens and stretchy fabrics, and for creating ruffles and decorative edges, the Brother™ 1034D Serger is the perfect addition to any sewing room. This reliable, easy to learn and use 3 / 4 thread serger features 22 built-in stitch functions, and snap-on, interchangeable creative feet. Stitch options include 4 thread overlock, 3 thread overlock, narrow hem, rolled hem, and ribbon lock stitches. With its differential fabric feed, the 1034D helps you achieve better stitch quality, for a more even, professional finish, even on very thin or stretchy fabrics. Threading is easy, with the color-coded upper thread guides and lower looper threading system. Plus, the included snap-on presser feet allow for quick and easy changes to transition to each desired stitch. To help you get started, the 1034D includes an instructional video, and a complete, printed instructional manual in English and Spanish.
  • Two needles and 3-4 thread
  • Versatile stitch options allow you to choose from 4 thread overlock, 3 thread overlock, narrow hem, rolled hem, and ribbon lock stitches.
  • Differential fabric feed for better stitch quality
  • Easy color-coded threading
  • Fast, up to 1300 stitches per minute
  • The stitch width can be easily adjusted between 3.00mm to 7.00mm, helping to provide the perfect stitch width for your project
  • Presser foot pressure adjustment dial
  • 2-point thread tension control device allows for smoother delivery of thread, and the tension for each needle can also be individually adjusted, for even more precise control for each type of thread.
  • Free Arm for Sewing Cuffs and Sleeves.
  • Retractable knife blade helps prevent against accidentally cutting your fabric when you're working close to the edges of rolled hems.
  • Brightly Lit Work Area
  • Safety feature prevents operation when the front cover is open
  • Uses standard sewing machine needles
  • Built-in storage allows you to keep accessory tools on the front panel flip-down door, and use the removable trim trap to store the foot controller, and to collect trim while serging.
  • Bilingual operation manual and instructional CD
Basic Features back to top
Stitch Select Dial
Lighting Bulb

Sewing Features back to top
Maximum Sewing Speed (Stitches Per Minute) 1,300
Feed Dog Differential Feed
Stitch Width (mm) 5.0 - 7.0 mm from left needle
Stitch Length (mm) 2.0 - 4.0 mm (for overlock stitch), 1.0-2.0 mm (for narrow stitch), 1.0 mm (for roll stitch)
Presser Foot Pressure Adjustment Yes
Specialty Feet Included Yes (Additional specialty feet may be available. See Optional Accessories)

Carton Contents back to top
Accessory Storage Yes
Included Accessory Feet Standard foot, blind stitch foot, gathering foot
Other Included Accessories 4 large spools of serger thread, soft cover, accessory bag with needle set, 4 thread nets, 4 thread spool caps, 4 thread nets, tweezers, cleaning brush, hexogonal driver, trim trap, foot controller pedal, instruction DVD, instruction manual

Warranty 25 year limited warranty
Machine Dimensions (H x W x D) 11.73" x 10.98" x 13.19"
Machine Weight 13.45 lbs.
Shipping Dimensions (H x W x D) 14.37" x 15.35" x 17.32"
Shipping Weight 19.84 lbs.
UL/CSA Listed Yes, 110v

Serger Features back to top
Overlock Seam Width 5.0 - 7.0mm from left needle
Double Chain Stitch No
Cover Stitch No
2/3/4 Thread Change No
Differential Feed 0.7 - 2.0mm
Change for Rolled Hemming Removable
Underlooper Threader Yes
Stitch Fingers 1
Knife Drive Type Lower drive

Please click on the categories below to view the optional accessories for the 1034D

SA212 Elastic Foot for Serger

Genuine Brother® Accessory. Attach and sew elastic or tape in one easy step with your overlock machine. Adjustable stitch width up to 12mm. Channel on foot secures elastic or twill tape to fabric eliminating the need for pins as you created a serged edge. Gathers knits as elastic is attached.

SA213 Gathering Foot for Serger

Genuine Brother® Accessory. Gathering and edge finishing in one operation. Serge finish fabric edges with this snap on foot. Channel on foot secures fabric elimnating the need for pins as you create a serged edge and gather single or double layers of fabric. Connect fabric layers and edge finish in one step.

SA211 Pearl Sequence Foot for Serger

Genuine Brother® Accessory. Holds and guides pearls as you use your overlock machine. Guides up to 5mm stranded pearls for one step attachment. Channel for pearl feeding. Adjustable stitch length avoids needle breakage.

SA210 Piping Foot for Serger

Genuine Brother® Accessory. Guide and hold narrow piping as you use your overlock machine. Create your own piping using fabric strips and piping cord. Holds and guides piping eliminating the need for pins as piping and fabric are serged together. Guide and hold zipper in place with guide on the underside of foot to hold teeth of zipper foot in place as zipper and fabric are serged together.

1034D Overview Video
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Still on the Sidelines The machine arrived on time and in good shape. Unfortunately, I managed to undo the lower thread, and this instructions were on Windows CD's, and I have a Mac. I can't view them. Customer support kindly gave me some YouTube videos to watch, but they were unclear and confusing, so I have still been unable to use my machine at all. It would be helpful if the instructions had the option for a Mac, so Mac users could actually see what they're doing. I don't know if I'll ever be able to use this machine. I don't feel confident.
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love This Serger really love it the machine not happy with foot pedal otherwise would give 5 stars.
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little machine so far I have not used this machine extensively yet, but everything I have tried so far has been great. Just the fact that it came pre-threaded was wonderful. The user book that came with it, along with the CDs have been even more helpful. I am looking forward to many happy sewing adventures with this machine!!!
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase ever I love my machine it takes a little getting use to but once I did I can sew on it An things I didn't know I could do with it is endless . For the price it is a great machine
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can't sew without a serger I purchased this serger when my older model singer became out of time. It would have cost me almost as much to repair as to purchase this machine. I was afraid of the treading but finally sat down and watched a tutorial on line and was able to thread the machine without any problems. I haven't gotten to sew much but did do one project and I was very pleased with the result. The only negative I have was with a case I purchased to go with the machine. It is more like a box that you take the machine out of than a fitted case. The case also takes up a good deal of space. It I had to do over I would not have purchased the case, but made a nice cover to put over the machine when not in use.
Date published: 2017-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I have been looking at this for a while now. Finally bought it. I love it.
Date published: 2017-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works fine all the time I think I have this machine for over two years and never had problem. It helps me a lot on my projects.It's fun to use but treading the machine is not fun. I always have to use the instruction manual and the guide on the machine itself to install the treads.
Date published: 2017-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!! Runs great! Love the fact that there are so many tutorials on YouTube!
Date published: 2017-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!! I love my serger. I had a Baby lock and had problems with it and it needed to go to the shop for repair, but was too expensive. We looked up sergers on Amazon and found this one at a good price and decided to buy it. It was already loaded with thread and I tried it and it worked right away. Sergers can be a problem if the threads get messed up but this worked like a charm and every time since then, no problem at all. Love this.
Date published: 2017-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Brother - 1034D First time using a serger and I love it. Basically using the serger for repair of grandkids clothes and hemming. I plan on making pajamas for all Nine grandkids in 2018.
Date published: 2017-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Very Good Serger for the Money I needed (or felt I needed) a serger for occasional use. I needed one fast because I had a children's nightgown to hem and wanted it to look professional. I quilt, machine embroider and do punch needle projects. While working a punch needle project the edges of the hooped weaver's cloth unravel, so being able to quickly serge the edges beforehand will keep the task neat and tidy. The machine was easy to thread and the online videos are perfect to get a beginner like me going. I am happy with this machine.
Date published: 2017-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little machine This machine is easy to use and is a hard worker. I would recommend this machine to anyone who is new to serge sewing.
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a Serger that’s easy to use! The stitch quality and ease of use on this little machine is amazing. Love, love, love this serger!
Date published: 2017-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy I have just started using the machine, but I am happy with it so far. Threading was tricky until I retreaded the needles after threading the loopers. Then it worked fine. I didn't see anything in the directions saying you must rethread the needles even if only the looper ran out of thread. The online videos from Brother were also helpful.
Date published: 2017-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 1034 D Good machine for sewing heavy fabrics like denim and sweater knits. All it takes is the turn of the dial to get the various stitches. I would give it five stars except threads pull a little tight when sewing.
Date published: 2017-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Brother serger! I purchased my Brother 1034D on Amazon in summer 2017. It sat there, intimidating me for a few months before I got the guts to use it. Now I don't know what I was waiting for. It came threaded, so I got the hang of it by just turning it on and doing some samples. I think I was nervous about rethreading it with new cones of a neutral color, but if you just follow the threading instructions and the color coding it is totally doable. It worked the first time and then I was serging again immediately. I can make knit clothing now that looks so professional!
Date published: 2017-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I was very pleased with my purchase of this machine. The instructional CD was easy to follow and made using this type of sewing machine easy and less scary. I had never used a serger before, and was pleasantly surprised that I could thread the machine and change a needle with little effort. I am extremely happy that I purchased this serger.
Date published: 2017-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little machine It is very easy to thread. Good directions, even better directions online. Makes a great seam. Very happy.
Date published: 2017-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from More bang for the buck I haven't had the time to learn everything this machine is capable of. But the time I have been able to spend with it has been a joy. A very versatile machine that appears to have endless possibilities. Smooth running and virtually silent operation. Easy too thread and the needles are easy to get to to change. Love my purchase.
Date published: 2017-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase! LOve it! Brother has made this serger so easy to use.Threading the lower loopers is a breeze! all the setting dials and knobs are clearly marked ...and it sews like a dream. Thanks Brother for yet another awesome product
Date published: 2017-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonder machine I have fallen in love with my powerful sewing tool.
Date published: 2017-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great beginner Serger I've been serging for over 30 years. Sadly, I had to give up the serger I had because I could no longer thread the lower looper. After doing some research, I decided to replace my serger with the 1034D. The first week I had it, I made over 30 fleece scarves and they came out perfectly. I must say that threading this machine is a breeze. The lower looper threads so easily. I haven't done the rolled hem yet, that will be next week; but I am hoping it is easy as it looks in the video that I found on You Tube. The instructional video that comes with the machine does not work on Windows 10. If you enjoy sewing and haven't yet stepped into serging, the 1034 D is a GREAT affordable basic machine. I am very happy that I purchased this machine.
Date published: 2017-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A little workhouse. Bought this and it had a bit of a learning curve for threading, but I have made atleast 1000 gators (neckwarmers) and it is going strong
Date published: 2017-11-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointment I love the serger pretty much. The light bulb burned out right away. I looked in the manual so I wouldn't have to waste any time changing the bulb. Guess what...The book just said "Your serger has an LED bulb and it will not have to be replaced". Boy did I feel bad. Y'all need to change that! Well, I got the bulb out. Now where do I buy one? Do I have to pay for a bulb that was never supposed to burn out? My review would be 5 stars if I didn't have to mess with this. It's really hard to sew without the light.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NICE MACHINE BUSY LIFE AND USED FOR FEW MINUTES...SEEMS TO BE A NICE MACHINE BUT A BIT NOISEY...BUT ALL IN ALL IM HAPPY
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid, easy to use This server works as well as my Husqvsrns/Viking which cost more than twice as much. But the instructions for this model are so much easier to understand and explain everything clearly. I get nice stitches which using both regular and embroidery threads.
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very happy I'm very happy with my 1034D over lock machine. great machine for the money.
Date published: 2017-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can’t believe I never had one! Haven’t had it too long but so far it’s the best. I thought the threading would be hard to do but it’s pretty easy. Can’t wait to do some more projects. Here’s my first. Great purchase!
Date published: 2017-11-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from great like this serger better than any I've ever had works well with all of my sewing projects
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Review for my Brother 1034 D Best Purchase Ever and it really is a Joy to use. I highly recommend this machine. IT is awesome what you can make with it.
Date published: 2017-11-18
  • y_2018, m_1, d_20, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_417
  • loc_en_US, sid_1034D, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_brotherhad
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
 
Sign-up For Email Deals, Product Information, and More!
Thank You For Signing Up!
You have been successfully added to our email list!
Close