Latin America
Download individual embroidery designs from Disney®, Nickelodeon and more.
Brother Sews Newsletter
Sign-up for timely information on products features and more. >> subscribe
  • Comunity holder
  • Brother Club
  • Recieve the latest news, tips and
  • tricks from our educators, designs
  • and projects, plus special offers.
  • Sign Up
  • Event Calendar
  • Join Brother at events
  • across the country!
  • View All
  • Sewing Stories
  • Access our current and
  • archived newsletters for
  • free designs, projects
  • and more.
  • View All
  • Read all the Latest News
  • About Brother Products,
  • People, and Events.
  • View All
  • Sign Up for Special
  • Offers & News
  • Brother Product Information
  • and News. Sign Up today!
  • free designs, projects
  • and more.
  • View All
Free Designs, Projects & Videos
Comunity holder

Jump start your creativity with free projects, from crafts and gifts to fashion and home decor

View All
Free Designs

Free embroidery designs are just a click away

View All
Foot of the Month

Each month, we introduce a specialty presser foot along with a corresponding project

View All
Tutorials & Techniques

Step-by-step guides.

View All

Instructions on features and functions of your favorite machines.

View All

Individual embroidery designs including designs from Disney, Warner Brothers and more

View All
Comunity holder
Product Registration

Create a new account or log-in to update or view existing account.

Go to Registration Page
Support Center

Downloads, FAQs, Help and more.

View All
Software Updates

Find Print Drivers & Utility Software for you machine

View All
Product User Manuals

Download Manuals, Reference Guides, and other documents for your Product.

View All
Retired Products
View All
Contact Us

Contact us by Email or Phone

View All
Explore the creative possibilities of custom embroidery with the affordable, reliable, and feature-rich PE525 embroidery machine. The PE525 comes with features that help make embroidery fun and easy. Add new, fashionable embellishments to clothing in your closet, personalize a child's belongings with custom designs and lettering, or turn everyday pillows and blankets into customized gifts for friends and family. With the PE525, the options are virtually limitless. The PE525 features a 4"x4" embroidery area, 70 built-in designs, 120 frame patterns, and 5 font styles for lettering and monogramming. Included with this machine is a 25-year limited warranty and free customer phone and online technical support for the life of the product.
  • Built-in designs - 70 designs, 5 font styles for lettering and monogramming and 120 frame pattern combinations
  • Large 4" x 4" embroidery area
  • Easy to use, 1.4" x 2.7" back-lit LCD touch screen display - access and edit built-in designs, view tutorials and more
  • Advanced needle threading system - with the press of a lever, the thread is pushed through the eye of the needle
  • Bobbin-winding system prepares bobbins quickly
  • Computer connectivity with update capability - enjoy free machine updates and easily import embroidery designs from your computer
  • Jam resistant Quick-set™ drop-in top bobbin
  • Over 5,000 designs available for individual purchase at
Basic Features back to top
LCD Size (Horizontal x Vertical) inches 2.7" x 1.4"
Adjustable Screen Brightness Settings Yes
Stitch Select Touch Panel
Screensaver No
On-Screen Help Yes
Built-in Languages Yes
Zoom Function No
On-Screen Editing No
Realistic Preview No
Lighting 1 LED
Table No
Needle Threading System Advanced
Independent Bobbin Winding Motor No
Thread Sensor Upper and Bobbin
Thread Sensor On/Off No
Automated Upper and Lower Thread Cutting Yes
Quick-Set™ Bobbin Yes
Built-in Memory Yes
Computer Connectivity with Update Capability Yes
Memory Card Embroidery Card
Cable Yes

Sewing Features back to top
Presser Foot Pressure Adjustment No

Embroidery Features back to top
Maximum Embroidery Area (X x Y) 4" x 4"
Maximum Embroidery Speed (Stitches Per Minute) 400
Speed Adjustment No
Built-in Embroidery Designs (Non-License) 70
Built-in Alphabet Fonts Yes
Monogramming Font Styles No
Built-in Frame Designs 10 Shapes x 12 Stitch Patterns
InnovEye™ Technology No
Snowman® Embroidery Positioning Marker No
Thread Wiper No
Resume Function No
Trial Position/Layout Function Yes
Built-in Border Function & Designs No
Sewing Decorative Stitches with Embroidery Arm Attached No
Appliqué Creator Function No
Automatic Feed Thread Cutting No
Curving Text on Screen Editing No
Space Reduction among Embroidery Alphabets No
Pattern Rotating 1, 10, or 90 Degrees
Drag and Drop Editing No
Onscreen Automatic Density Adjustment (STB) No
My Custom Design™ Feature No
Color Shuffling™ Function No
Print and Stitch™ Technology No
Programmable Monochrome Embroidery No

Carton Contents back to top
Included Accessory Feet Embroidery Foot "Q"
Other Included Accessories Bobbin (3), Needle set, Cleaning brush, Seam ripper, Screwdriver (large), Disc-shaped screwdriver, Spool caps (4 - small, 2 medium, large), Spool net, Scissors, Touch pen, USB cable, Embroidery bobbin thread, Accessory bag, Dust cover
Included Embroidery Hoops 4" x 4"

Warranty Standard warranty, 2&5 warranty
Machine Dimensions (H x W x D) 15.55" x 6.93" x 11.73"
Machine Weight 18.078 lbs (with embroidery unit attached)
Shipping Weight 22.267 lbs
UL/CSA Listed Yes, 110v
Quick Reference Stitch Guides Yes

PE525 Overview Video
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase I love the machine I just wish that it had the ability to get larger hoops. I also wish the software was not so pricey. But it's a great machine for smaller projects.
Date published: 2017-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase for Me This sewing machine is awesome. It was reasonable and does embroidery well.
Date published: 2017-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoy alot I'm still trying to figure out how to use it but it will come to me eventually
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from First machine What is step 7 i need to replace it broke on me thanks
Date published: 2017-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Embroidery Machine! This is my first Embroidery machine and I like it. It's easy to thread and simple to use. It's a great machine, the reason I gave it a 4 star out of 5 is because it only embroiders a 4"x4" area. It would be nice if you could switch the hoops and embroider a bit larger. I like the machine I should just have done a bit more research on the embroidery size.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love my Brother I am new at embroidery. so can't give much of a review. but love the machine and all the many features. after about a year when i get more proficient i would definietly mark it as a 5 star product
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well I love this machine. But I wish the hoop was bigger and I would’ve liked more font options but over all it’s a good machine and it does a great job.
Date published: 2017-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Used it right of the box Great machine but I really wish they made it easier to understand how to create your own designs.
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So far so good I like this machine. It is really easy to use and the instruction manual is awesome. Unfortunately I haven't had the chance to download any design into the machine and try it out but I am looking forward to it. I really wish there would be more options for the sizes of the designs (the biggest this machine embroiders is 4x4) sometimes I want to embroider something bigger but it's not possible without embroidering the design in 2 steps and I don't want to buy the other embroidery machine with the bigger hoop because it is a lot more expensive. So if you don't want to embroider anything bigger than 4x4 then this machine will do the job just fine.
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brother PE525 Love it just wish the automatic needle would work all the time when I use it
Date published: 2017-09-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Did not like the machine Return the machine. Did not meet my expectation. Needed a better machine
Date published: 2017-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gift from my kids for Mother's Day This is a beginners embroidery machine. I wish you could see larger initials on it. Had to take it to a dealer to get it to work. Bobbin mechanism was not on correctly and brother gave me no help on the phone.
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this machine! This is my first embroidery machine and I love it! Downloading from the computer is easy. Patterns I digitize myself are no problem. Clear instructions and specifications. The negative reviews listed on this page refer to user error, not machine error. I do wish I could use a flash drive with it, but that's the only drawback I have found.
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value and Great Machine You can't go wrong with this machine. Great Value and easy to use.
Date published: 2017-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice purchase It takes a little time getting used to and you often have to change the bobbin tension. Made some cool stuff and love it
Date published: 2017-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Very easy for a beginner and home embroidery--would recommend
Date published: 2017-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing machine First machine. I love it. Eazy to use. Easy adjustments.
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A tremendous value I use a 3d printer to make products and understand the technology of this item. I wanted to put my own logos on my own shirts rather than pay a service and buy a minimum. When I found how affordable the pe525 was, I had to try it. I'm a guy and have almost no knowledge of sewing and after a bit of discovery, I can do what I set out to do to an acceptable level. The machine seems to skip a stitch now and then and the LCD screen forces some hard to understand visuals but I didn't spend $5K either! Just like my printers put plastic where they're told, the pe525 puts stitches where the software says it should and that's exactly what I was looking for.
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from PE525 It is very easy to use, I just wish it had more embroidery patterns built in
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE my embroidery machine! Purchased so I could embroider items for my family and my Etsy shop. Has been AWSOME
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I've been wanting to embroider for years. I didn't know so much is computerized. But with the pe525 it's easy, plug into your computer and import designs off the internet. So far I've done some t-shirts,a hat, key fobs and applique.. there's several things still to try.. I'm very glad I made this purchase!
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great beginner machine. Great for introducing a young person to embroidery. I've already purchased another Brother.
Date published: 2017-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like learning about it I love it! I'm learning.Never machine quilted before.I like walking away from it and it keeps on working.
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best present I have received I love this machine. Given to me as a present and I was surprised. After reading the directions and playing with the machine I found it easy to understand and. I was glad how easy it was to download a pattern from the internet. Also, I did my first ever free standing lace and it came out great.
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I'm soooo disappointed in this sewing machine! You can only use a 4x4 hoop which means you can't use a ton of patterns! When you do a pattern that changes thread alot-it looks horrible on the backside! It won't take the brother card I bought with PED-Basic either!
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not very user friendly this machine is not very user friendly. it is very hard to get the purchased designs from the computer to the machine. I really wish I could return the machine.
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine The only problem so far is not being able to go back 5 - 8 stitches when a thread breaks. And it will not accept items I personally digitize.
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from first embroidery machine This is a great starter embroidery machine for beginners or those that will not do a whole lot for others. I found it so easy. But... just made me want more, so I had to up to a bigger. love it too
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected Ithe machine was easy to thread but the embroidery patterns were hard to download and the machine skipped stitches. Also the thread would tangle easy causing my clothes to get holes where patterns was supposed to be. I wouldn't recommend to buy this machine but I do have a brother I see with and it works wonderful.
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good introduction to Embroidery Machine This is my third Brother sewing machine and good for learning computerized digitized embroidery. Would've liked to be able to resize some designs like a favorite-the butterfly to several smaller sizes. Also have learned to keep record of each project and take pix of them. Am enjoying the journey. Thanx!
Date published: 2016-11-13
  • y_2018, m_3, d_22, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_PE525, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_brotherhad
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 15ms
Sign-up For Email Deals, Product Information, and More!
Thank You For Signing Up!
You have been successfully added to our email list!